Lowndes and Richards crowned Pirtek Enduro Cup winners

Craig Lowndes and Steve Richards with the Pirtek Enduro Cup

Craig Lowndes and co-driver Steven Richards have been crowned victors of the 2018 Pirtek Enduro Cup following the washout of Sunday’s race at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

The Autobarn Lowndes Racing pair held an 87 point advantage heading into the day over Scott McLaughlin and Alex Premat, but with the race failing to reach half distance to qualify for points, their position proved unassailable.

“Yesterday we qualified poorly and we stormed back through the field; today we qualified well then a storm came, so it’s been a hell of a run,” said Lowndes.

“The last race with Richo, it’s really special to be able to take that back to the workshop, have both our names on it, and for this man here (John McGregor) who’s worked pretty hard this year to give us a car we can do what we do.”

Together, Lowndes and Richards recorded a third at Sandown, won the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000, and took second in the opening race at the Gold Coast.

“It’s been an incredible last three races,” said Richards.

“Right from the outset, when I drove this car, I couldn’t believe how good it was.

“The boys have done a great job all campaign, and here we are. It’s the one trophy I was hoping to get a hold of before I finished driving, and we got it, so it’s great.”

With Sunday’s race declared a non-event the points following Saturday’s race ultimately determined the final Pirtek Enduro Cup results.

Behind McLaughlin and Premat, who ended the campaign 87 points away from the victors, were Shane van Gisbergen and Earl Bamber.

Trailing their stablemates by 60 points heading into the weekend they ended up 120 points away in the final reckoning after Saturday’s 102 lap race in Surfers Paradise.

It also left a tie for fourth with Chaz Mostert and James Moffat taking the place on a countback over Scott Pye and Warren Luff courtesy of winning on the Gold Coast.

Result: Pirtek Enduro Cup

Pos Num Driver Total
1 888 Craig Lowndes/Steve Richards 696
2 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alex Premat 609
3 97 Shane Van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber 576
4 55 Chaz Mostert/James Moffat 546
25 Scott Pye/Warren Luff 546
6 1 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 519
7 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden 474
8 33 Garth Tander/Chris Pither 456
9 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto 432
10 15 Rick Kelly/Garry Jacobson 363
11 8 Nick Percat/Macauley Jones 360
12 5 Mark Winterbottom/Dean Canto 342
13 34 James Golding/Richard Muscat 315
14 230 Will Davison/Alex Davison 309
15 5 Cameron Waters/David Russell 294
16 7 Andre Heimgartner/Aaren Russell 288
17 14 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh 270
18 19 Jack Le Brocq/Jonathon Webb 255
19 21 Tim Blanchard/Dale Wood 252
20 2 James Courtney/Jack Perkins 243
21 35 Todd Hazelwood/Bryce Fullwood 219
22 18 Lee Holdsworth/Jason Bright 216
23 99 Anton de Pasquale/Will Brown 204
24 78 Simona De Silvestro/Alex Rullo 177
25 56 Richie Stanaway/Steve Owen 168
26 23 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 96

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]