Harris continues march in SuperUtes

Daniel Herrero

Saturday 20th October, 2018 - 1:33pm


Ryal Harris leads Tom Alexander pic: Matthew Paul Photography

The Ryal Harris hot streak has rolled on with a lights-to-flag win in Race 1 of Round 7 of the ECB SuperUtes Series on the Gold Coast.

Harris, who swept the previous round at Bathurst to reclaim the series lead, led the field into the first corner and the #58 Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50 was never headed.

Tom Alexander ran second for the duration and at one stage pegged the gap back from over a second to around five tenths, but never made a serious challenge in the #22 Ross Stone Racing Holden Colorado.

Craig Woods (#64 Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux) gained a position at the rolling start and kept third until the end of the eight-lapper, while Cameron Crick (#87 Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Triton) and Ben Walsh (#8 WSM Hilux) rounded out the top five.

Luke van Herwaarde ran fourth until he made a big lunge at Woods on Lap 3 which saw him glance the wall entering Breaker Street.

The #52 WSM Hilux, which still sported the scars of a crash in Armor All Qualifying the afternoon prior, finished sixth.

Aaron Cameron struggled with an apparent electrical issue in the #95 Peters BT-50 which hampered his ability to achieve full throttle and the new KZ2 karting champion finished seventh.

Mick Sieders, whose #45 SRT Triton was set to take to the track with parts borrowed from a Mitsubishi executive’s company car after a qualifying hit, was a non-starter in the end.

Kim Jane and the #1 Steve Wilson Racing Isuzu D-Max did not appear for the race.

Race 2 starts tomorrow at 0845 local time/0945 AEDT.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 8 12:37.1911
2 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 8 12:38.3045
3 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 8 12:39.6977
4 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton 8 12:42.3663
5 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 8 12:48.1352
6 52 EFS 4X4 Racing Luke van Herwaarde Toyota Hilux 8 12:48.3146
7 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 8 12:57.1429
8 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 8 12:57.9062
9 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 8 13:00.5055
10 94 Allgate Auto Doors Richard Mork Ford Ranger 8 13:19.5731
DNF 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 2 8:39.3531 comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!