Aus GT 2019 calendar including Gold Coast visit

The Australian GT Championship will again start at the Australian Grand Prix

The CAMS Australian GT Championship will be contested over seven rounds next year and again incorporate the Australian Endurance Championship (AEC).

As was the case in 2018, there will be three endurance rounds which will count towards both titles, although these now fall in succession from Rounds 3 to 5.

The GT4 Championship and CAMS Australian GT Trophy Series classes will also race in the field for the four sprint rounds which make up the balance of the calendar.

The season again kicks off at the Australian Grand Prix at Albert Park before heading west to Barbagallo Raceway for the first time in two years.

Victoria hosts four of the seven rounds, including the start and end of the AEC, bookending a race at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The championship then heads back to the Gold Coast for the first time in seven years, before a second round at Sandown to finish off the year.

AEC races will take place on the Shannons Nationals bill and the sprint rounds with the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship or AGP.

“We’re excited by the calendar we’ve put together for next season,” said Australian GT manager Ken Collier.

“It offers an interesting blend of formats and events which play to the strengths of what these cars can do.

“The Grand Prix is the perfect way to start our season because so many of the brands represented in Australian GT are also on the Formula 1 grid.

“It’s also one of the biggest events of the year, and one we’re proud to have been part of for the last few years.

“Having three endurance events was important to us as we felt that offered a really good balance in 2018, and made for a fantastic Australian Endurance Championship battle that went to the final round.

“And to return to the streets of Surfers Paradise is a fabulous opportunity. It’s been a few years since we’ve been there, so we’re looking forward to showcasing these fabulous cars, teams and drivers at that event.

“Off the back of what was a thrilling end to the 2018 season last weekend, we’re very much looking forward to next year with this exciting calendar.”

Geoff Emery won this year’s Australian GT Championship, while the AEC went to Tony D’Alberto and Max Twigg.

2019 CAMS Australian GT Championship calendar

Rnd Circuit Program Format Date
1 Albert Park Formula 1 Grand Prix Sprint Mar 14-17
2 Barbgallo Virgin Australia Supercars Sprint May 2-4
3 Phillip Island Shannons Nationals Endurance Jun 7-8
4 The Bend Shannons Nationals Endurance Jul 12-13
5 Sandown Shannons Nationals Endurance Sep 20-21
6 Surfers Paradise Virgin Australia Supercars Sprint Oct 25-27
7 Sandown Virgin Australia Supercars Sprint Nov 8-10

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]