Big guns in fight for Pirtek Enduro Cup

The top three Pirtek Enduro Cup pairings heading into the Gold Coast 600

The Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 winners and the two major championship contenders are the best shots of lofting the Pirtek Enduro Cup come Sunday afternoon in Surfers Paradise.

Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards took over the lead in the chase for the Pirtek Enduro Cup with their win last time out at Mount Panorama and hold a 60-point margin over Triple Eight stablemates Shane van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber, and Shell V-Power Racing’s Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat out of Shell V-Power Racing.

The Autobarn Lowndes Racing duo would guarantee themselves victory in the series within a series if they finish on the podium in each race of the Vodafone Gold Coast 600.

Should they win on Saturday, both the #97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team entry and Car #17 would have to finish no worse than 14th to remain a mathematical hope of overhauling them on Sunday.

Adding spice to the contest, McLaughlin closed his deficit to van Gisbergen in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship to 19 points with his maiden Bathurst 1000 podium.

Technically, the top 11 pairings remain in the hunt for the Pirtek Enduro Cup but realistically it is a race in five.

Boost Mobile Racing’s Scott Pye/Warren Luff are fourth, 78 points behind Car #888, after their second straight Bathurst runner-up finish.

The Sandown 500-winning Triple Eight entry of Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell is 102 points off the pace after salvaging a 10th position finish a fortnight ago despite Car #1 temporarily running on three wheels and dropping off the lead lap.

Of the aforementioned quintet of pairings, each of Triple Eight’s primary drivers has won the Pirtek Enduro Cup once, as has Dumbrell.

Luff is the only two-time winner, as co-driver to Lowndes in the inaugural 2013 edition and as co-driver to Garth Tander in 2015.

Supercars action commences tomorrow with Practice 1 at 1040 local time/1140 AEDT.

Pirtek Enduro Cup: After Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

Pos Num Drivers Pts
1 888 Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards 558
2 97 Shane van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber 498
3 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat 498
4 2 Scott Pye/Warren Luff 480
5 1 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 456
6 55 Chaz Mostert/James Moffat 396
7 33 Garth Tander/Chris Pither 372
8 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto 360
9 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden 354
10 11 Rick Kelly/Garry Jacobson 324
11 34 James Golding/Richard Muscat 282
12 8 Nick Percat/Macauley Jones 258
13 5 Mark Winterbottom/Dean Canto 246
14 230 Will Davison/Alex Davison 240
15 7 Andre Heimgartner/Aaren Russell 240
16 14 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh 228
17 99 Anton De Pasquale/Will Brown 204
18 6 Cameron Waters/David Russell 204
19 19 Jack Le Brocq/Jonathon Webb 198
20 21 Tim Blanchard/Dale Wood 198
21 35 Todd Hazelwood/Bryce Fullwood 174
22 56 Richie Stanaway/Steve Owen 168
23 18 Lee Holdsworth/Jason Bright 156
24 78 Simona de Silvestro/Alex Rullo 126
25 25 James Courtney/Jack Perkins 114
26 23 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 60

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]