V8TC field set for Gold Coast 600 supports

Daniel Herrero

Monday 15th October, 2018 - 12:16pm


Shane Hunt will return to the series in his ex-Triple EIght Falcon

A 14-strong Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Cars field is set to take to the streets of Surfers Paradise this weekend.

The unofficial third tier of Supercars will hold a non-points round on the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 undercard in place of Stadium Super Trucks, after the series proper wrapped up at The Bend in August.

The teen who clinched the title that weekend, Tyler Everingham, will be present in the same MW Motorsport FG Falcon while 2017 series winner Jack Smith races a Brad Jones Racing VE Commodore.

In the Kumho Cup ranks, Shane Hunt makes his return to the series in an ex-Triple Eight Race Engineering BA Falcon.

The Ford, which was driven in the Supercars Championship by Paul Radisich and Steven Ellery, will run in Triple Eight’s 2006 Betta Electrical livery.

In the Heritage Class, series regular Andy Cantrell will again race his Glenn Seton Racing EL Falcon while Sean Fardell is back in an ex-Perkins Engineering VX Commodore.

Both cars are Super2 Series winners, the former when driven by Dean Canto in 2000 and the latter by Paul Dumbrell in 2002.

The V8 Touring Cars have two practice sessions on Friday before three 12-lap races across Saturday and Sunday.

Entry list: Surfers Paradise Street Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Class
4 Edge Consulting Engineers Shane Hunt Ford Falcon BF Kumho Cup
8 Mr HDT Race Cars & Engines Sean Fardell Commodore VX Heritage
9 Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
11 Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG Championship
21 Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics Jack Smith Commodore VE II Championship
27 MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham Ford Falcon FG Championship
39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
56 Coe Property Group Stephen Coe Commodore VE Kumho Cup
66 Unichip Australia Jack Sipp Commodore VE Kumho Cup
69 Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG Championship
75 B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
77 Protrack Automotive Performance Gary Collins Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
96 Aussie Driver Search Kyle Austin Ford Falcon FG Championship
111 Custom Garage Andy Cantrell Ford Falcon EL Heritage comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!