Bathurst winners take over Pirtek Enduro Cup lead

The #888 Triple Eight Holden of Craig Lowndes and Steven Richards

Craig Lowndes’ and Steven Richards’ Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 win has moved them into the lead of the Pirtek Enduro Cup standings.

The veteran pairing picked up 258 points by finishing third in the Rabble.Club Sandown 500 before adding another 300 in the Great Race.

Lowndes and Richards are the only drivers to finish on the podium in each of the first two races of this year’s Pirtek Enduro Cup.

Trailing them by 60 points is fellow Triple Eight pairing Shane van Gisbergen and Earl Bamber, who remain second after finishing fifth in Bathurst.

They are tied with van Gisbergen’s Virgin Australia Supercars Championship title rival Scott McLaughlin and French co-driver Alexandre Premat, who stood on the final step of the podium at Mount Panorama.

Bathurst runners-up Scott Pye and Warren Luff are fourth, one position ahead of Jamie Whincup and Paul Dumbrell.

The Sandown victors slipped to fifth after Car #1 shed a wheel on Lap 40 and dropped off the lead lap, before they clawed their way back to 10th.

Last year’s winners Chaz Mostert and Steve Owen are sixth and 22nd respectively in the series within a series, having been split for 2018 after a shuffle of Tickford Racing’s co-driver ranks.

A Triple Eight combination has won the Pirtek Enduro Cup three times out of the five years since it was instituted in 2013.

Lowndes won the inaugural edition with Warren Luff, the same year in which Richards won the Bathurst 1000 for a third time as co-driver to Mark Winterbottom at Tickford.

The final two races of the Pirtek Enduro Cup are the twin 300km affairs at the Vodafone Gold Coast 600 on October 19-21.

Pirtek Enduro Cup: After Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

Pos Num Drivers Pts
1 888 Craig Lowndes/Steven Richards 558
2 97 Shane van Gisbergen/Earl Bamber 498
3 17 Scott McLaughlin/Alexandre Premat 498
4 2 Scott Pye/Warren Luff 480
5 1 Jamie Whincup/Paul Dumbrell 456
6 55 Chaz Mostert/James Moffat 396
7 33 Garth Tander/Chris Pither 372
8 12 Fabian Coulthard/Tony D’Alberto 360
9 9 David Reynolds/Luke Youlden 354
10 11 Rick Kelly/Garry Jacobson 324
11 34 James Golding/Richard Muscat 282
12 8 Nick Percat/Macauley Jones 258
13 5 Mark Winterbottom/Dean Canto 246
14 230 Will Davison/Alex Davison 240
15 7 Andre Heimgartner/Aaren Russell 240
16 14 Tim Slade/Ash Walsh 228
17 99 Anton De Pasquale/Will Brown 204
18 6 Cameron Waters/David Russell 204
19 19 Jack Le Brocq/Jonathon Webb 198
20 21 Tim Blanchard/Dale Wood 198
21 35 Todd Hazelwood/Bryce Fullwood 174
22 56 Richie Stanaway/Steve Owen 168
23 18 Lee Holdsworth/Jason Bright 156
24 78 Simona de Silvestro/Alex Rullo 126
25 25 James Courtney/Jack Perkins 114
26 23 Michael Caruso/Dean Fiore 60

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]