Commanding Evans takes maiden win at Mount Panorama

Evans leads the field into Hell Corner on Lap 1

Jaxon Evans has led from start to finish to claim his first Bathurst victory in the Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia.

The McElrea Racing driver put in a commanding performance that saw him set a new lap record, winning by less than half a second from Jordan Love.

A strong start saw Evans round Hell Corner first as pole-sitter Wall bogged down and fell to third behind Love.

Down the field, Roger Lago and Dale Wood found themselves off the track as they began heading up Mountain Straight, the stricken cars drawing the Safety Car.

The incident was triggered as Lago and Indiran Padayachee came together, turning Lago across the road and into the hapless Wood.

Second placed Love immediately latched onto Evans at the restart on Lap 4, the pair skipping clear of the pack headed by Wall.

As the leading duo ran nose to tail Evans refused to be rattled, heading Love by less than a second for the remainder of the race to claim the race win.

Wall ended the race in a lonely third place, over a second adrift of Wall but well clear of Cameron Hill in fourth.

Dylan O’Keeffe climbed from eighth at the start to sixth as he continued to recover from a clash at the opening turn in Race 1 that left him at the rear of the field.

Despite losing a spot to Peter Major at the final corner, Stephen Grove still headed the Pro-Am battle to take his second class win of the weekend.

The final Porsche Carrera Cup race of the weekend begins at 0930 on Sunday morning.

Results: Posrche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia, Race 2

Pos Car Driver Team Class Laps Time
1 7 Jaxon Evans (QLD) Morris Finance P 7 20:32.023
2 777 Jordan Love (WA) Bob Jane T Marts P 7 20:32.443
3 1 David Wall (NSW) PAYCE/Wilson Security P 7 20:33.727
4 111 Cameron Hill (ACT) Lifeline Canberra/Seears Workw P 7 20:37.509
5 88 Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) APB Group P 7 20:39.560
6 888 Glen Wood (VIC) Porsche Centre Brighton/Porsch P 7 20:39.910
7 8 Nick McBride (VIC) Porsche Centre Melbourne P 7 20:41.051
8 12 Adam Garwood (TAS) Garwood Motorsport P 7 20:41.503
9 18 James Moffat (TBC) Payce/Wilson Security/JBL P 7 20:50.159
10 14 Peter Major (SA) Sonic/Totally 4×4 P 7 20:51.628
11 4 Stephen Grove (VIC) Grove Group A 7 20:51.758
12 6 Tim Miles (NSW) Miles Advisory Partners/Garage A 7 20:51.987
13 15 Josh Hunt (WA) LORY Construction P 7 20:58.279
14 50 Dave Stevens (NSW) Wall Racing/Brennan IT A 7 20:59.766
15 19 Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) Hallmark Homes A 7 21:00.000
16 20 Adrian Flack (NSW) Agas National A 7 21:03.700
17 22 Dean Cook (VIC) BMF/Pitman Racing A 7 21:08.287
18 9 Marc Cini (VIC) Hallmarc A 7 21:10.877
19 13 Sam Shahin (SA) The Bend/htfu A 7 21:11.158
20 131 Graham Williams (VIC) Harcourts Williams A 7 21:25.182
21 35 Indiran Padayachee (NSW) Hyundai Forklifts Australia A 7 22:02.583
DNF 23 Roger Lago (QLD) JBS Australia A
DNF 100 Dale Wood (VIC) Sonic/Polyflor P

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]