Supercars reveals Legends Lane inductees

Mike Raymond (left) with Mark Skaife and Gregg Hansford’s sons Rhys and Ryan

Supercars has revealed the three names to be inducted into Legends Lane at this year’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Six-time Bathurst 1000 winner Mark Skaife, legendary commentator Mike Raymond and the late two and four wheel ace Gregg Hansford were unveiled as the personalities to join an illustrious list of Bathurst Legends.

Last year’s inaugural class of inductees consisted of Allan Moffat, Colin Bond, Dick Johnson, Jim Richards, Fred Gibson, Bob Morris, John Harvey, Kevin Bartlett, John Bowe, Allan Grice, John Goss, Larry Perkins and the late Peter Brock.

The great Bob Jane, who passed away last Friday following a battle with cancer, is also one of the Legends to be honoured in the permanent tribute which is set to be built at the circuit.

“There have been so many who have made this race and event what it is today,” said Supercars CEO Sean Seamer.

“Gregg, Mike and Mark are true greats of our sport in many ways. On behalf of Supercars and Australian motorsport we thank them for all they have done at this great place.”

Skaife claimed his first Bathurst win in 1991 before going on to take out The Great Race in 1992, 2000, 2001, 2005 and 2010.

The former Holden Racing Team driver is equal third in the Bathurst 1000 all-time winners list.

Raynond was the voice of Australian touring cars in the 1970s through to the 1990s, calling the Great Race for more than 20 years.

The former head of Channel Seven was also influential in the move to what has now become Supercars when he led Seven and major sponsor Shell to back the Ford and Holden switch in the 1990s.

Meanwhile, Hansford holds the unique distinction of winning at Bathurst on a bike and in a car.

He was a 10 time MotoGP race winner, also winning the 1993 Bathurst 1000 and 1994 Bathurst 12 Hour.

Hansford tragically died at age 42 following a crash while competing in a Super Touring race in 1995 at Phillip Island.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]