DJRTP takes out Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge

Roger Penske celebrates alongside Brad Jones pic: Daniel Kalisz

Shell V-Power Racing has won the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge for the second year in a row after beating Brad Jones Racing on Friday night at Mount Panorama.

The contest resulted in a near dead-heat with the crew of Scott McLaughin’s car proclaimed winner.

However, upon receiving the $20,000 prize cheque team owner Roger Penske opted to split his winnings with Brad Jones.

“Well that was great,” exclaimed Penske.

The finish between the #17 and the #8 in the grand final pic: Fox Sports

“I guess maybe we should just split it (the prize money) and so we both won – is that a good idea? We’re going to split it with these guys next to us, how’s that?

“It was so close we’re going to spit it.”

“You could not pick that in a million years,” added Pirtek managing director Steve Dutton.

An elated Ryan Story, Shell V-Power Racing’s managing director, said the team have plans for the prize money.

“I’m considering myself the Vince Lombardi of the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge; I gave the boys a pep talk before the first one, a pep talk before the second one,” enthused Story.

“Let me let you in on a little secret, I told them the winnings will go towards the team Christmas party, so they were well motivated to get this one done.”

The Scott McLaughlin Falcon crew eliminated that of Jamie Whincup’s #1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team in the first semi-final, while Nick Percat’s BJR crew knocked out Tickford Racing.

This put Brad Jones Racing and Shell V-Power Racing’s against each other in the final, with the latter winning the Pirtek Pit Stop Challenge to take home the Golden Pirtek Rattle Gun.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]