Stanaway fastest in Practice 3 at Bathurst

Richie Stanaway

Richie Stanaway was fastest in Practice 3 but it was not enough to beat Will Davison’s morning benchmark as rain continued to fall at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

Stanaway set a 2:29.0174s in the Rabble.Club FGX Falcon shortly before the 15-minute mark of the final session of the day, which stood up for the remainder of the hour.

The #56 and #55 Tickford entries were split by Shell V-Power Racing’s two Fords at the top of the timesheets as Coulthard (#12 FGX Falcon) went second-fastest from McLaughlin (#17 FGX Falcon) and Mostert (Supercheap Auto Racing FGX Falcon).

While dryer wheel tracks began to form around the circuit midway through, persistent drizzle kept the pace down.

Stanaway was in fact just a touch under four seconds from the pace which Davison set in Practice 1 in the #230 Milwaukee FGX Falcon.

His best lap came just moments after Mostert’s, which had Car #55 temporarily on top before the 2014 Bathurst 1000 winner retreated to pit lane for the day.

“It’s obviously been a disappointing season but I guess when the conditions are a bit mixed up you can kind of capitalise on that, and it was nice to do that today,” said Stanaway.

As they did in Practice 2, DJR Team Penske choose to accumulate more laps than most as Coulthard gradually rose to second and McLaughlin third.

Tony D’Alberto finished the session in the former’s car and was one of six co-drivers to get track time in Practice 3.

The #97 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore was the fastest Holden for the third time in as many sessions as Shane van Gisbergen set a time which saw him classified fifth, the last car within a second of Stanaway.

Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy FGX Falcon) and Tim Slade (#14 Freightliner ZB Commodore) were sixth and seventh respectively while Michael Caruso took up eighth after an engine change since Practice 2 for the #23 Industrial Athlete Nissan Altima.

Craig Lowndes (#888 Autobarn ZB Commodore) and Simona de Silvestro (#78 Harvey Norman Nissan Altima) rounded out the top 10.

The #99 Penrite ZB Commodore made its first appearance of the day and finished the session 13th as Anton De Pasquale got his first track time of the event and Super2 driver Brown his first in the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship field.

Only 22 cars entered the circuit, the four missing being the #1 Triple Eight ZB Commodore, the #11 Castrol Nissan Altima, the #19 Tekno Autosports ZB Commodore, and the #34 Wilson Security ZB Commodore.

“We’ve got a program this weekend; there were a couple of items that we could tick off in P1 but there was no purpose of going out in P2 or P3,” said Jamie Whincup.

“As everyone else in the field has said, tomorrow’s going to be dry so we’ll get out there in the dry and tick off the rest of our program.”

Furthermore, primary drivers did not hop into either Boost Mobile ZB Commodore nor the 23Red Ford.

There was a steady succession of offs but no major damage done.

All told, only three cars improved after Practice 1, none of which were top 20 on combined times.

Practice 4, an hour-long session for co-drivers only, starts tomorrow at 0830 local time/AEST.

Results: Combined Practice

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Sess. Fastest lap Split
1 230 Milwaukee Racing W.Davison/A.Davison Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:25.0243  
2 55 Supercheap Auto Racing C.Mostert/J.Moffat Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:25.5388 0:00.5145
3 7 Castrol/Plus Fitness Racing A.Heimgartner/A.Russell Nissan Altima P1 2:25.7144 0:00.6901
4 23 Industrial Athlete Racing M.Caruso/D.Fiore Nissan Altima P1 2:25.7173 0:00.6930
5 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team M.Winterbottom/D.Canto Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:25.7358 0:00.7115
6 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team F.Coulthard/T.D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:25.9205 0:00.8962
7 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team S.van Gisbergen/E.Bamber Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:26.3577 0:01.3334
8 78 Team Harvey Norman Silvestro/A.Rullo Nissan Altima P1 2:26.5438 0:01.5195
9 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing S.Pye/W.Luff Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:26.6683 0:01.6440
10 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:26.6690 0:01.6447
11 56 Racing R.Stanaway/S.Owen Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:27.3396 0:02.3153
12 6 Monster Energy Racing C.Waters/D.Russell Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:27.5771 0:02.5528
13 18 Preston Hire Racing L.Holdsworth/J.Bright Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:27.7949 0:02.7706
14 35 Bigmate Racing T.Hazelwood/B.Fullwood Holden Commodore VF2 P1 2:28.2059 0:03.1816
15 19 Tekno Autosports J.Le Brocq/J.Webb Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:29.0161 0:03.9918
16 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team S.McLaughlin/A.Premat Ford Falcon FG/X P1 2:29.0767 0:04.0524
17 21 Team CoolDrive T.Blanchard/D.Wood Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:29.2954 0:04.2711
18 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM J.Golding/R.Muscat Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:29.4292 0:04.4049
19 14 Freightliner Racing T.Slade/A.Walsh Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:29.4749 0:04.4506
20 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing C.Lowndes/S.Richards Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:30.5808 0:05.5565
21 8 Repco Authorised Service Team N.Percat/M.Jones Holden Commodore ZB P3 2:31.0697 0:06.0454
22 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM G.Tander/C.Pither Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:31.5436 0:06.5193
23 99 Erebus Penrite Racing A.De Pasquale/W.Brown Holden Commodore ZB P3 2:31.6512 0:06.6269
24 11 Castrol Racing R.Kelly/G.Jacobson Nissan Altima P1 2:31.8550 0:06.8307
25 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing J.Courtney/J.Perkins Holden Commodore ZB P1 2:32.6344 0:07.6101
26 9 Erebus Penrite Racing D.Reynolds/L.Youlden Holden Commodore ZB P3 2:33.5141 0:08.4898

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]