Premat puts #17 Falcon on top of Practice 2

The #17 DJR Team Penske FGX Falcon

Alexandre Premat put Scott McLaughlin’s #17 FGX Falcon on top of Practice 2 as rain continued to fall at Mount Panorama.

Cars were thin on the ground for much of the hour-long co-driver session with only eight reaching a double-digit number of laps.

Premat, however, notched up 18 laps in total, chipping away until he set a 2:35.1824s on his 16th lap.

Conditions hardly improved during the session, if at all, and the fastest lap for the #17 Shell V-Power Ford was over 10 seconds away from Will Davison’s Practice 1 benchmark.

“It was pretty good,” said Premat.

“We went through our process and plan going through that session and towards the end it got a bit harder because there were only a few cars on track so it was aquaplaning in a straight line.

“We went through a few things in the car; car felt pretty good in the wet conditions.

“We know that this weekend is going to be dry, especially Saturday and Sunday, so just trying to get some miles and going through the plan with Ludo and the boys.”

Garry Jacobson was fastest first up and had moved back into top spot with a 2:35.8261s in the 17th minute before immediately putting the cue in the rack.

The #11 Castrol Nissan Altima ended up 0.6437s off the pace when Premat finally dislodged him from first position, approximately 40 minutes later.

“The main agenda today was to get comfortable,” said Jacobson, who is co-driving for Rick Kelly.

“We could have done more laps, but I think we both felt pretty comfortable today after six laps each in the wet. We’re feeling good.”

Earl Bamber did even fewer laps in the #97 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore but was temporarily fastest with the 2:35.9013s which stood up for third-fastest.

Dean Canto (#5 The Bottle-O FGX Falcon) finished the session in fourth while Tony D’Alberto moved up to fifth on his 14th and final lap in the #12 DJR Team Penske FGX Falcon.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dale Wood (#21 CoolDrive ZB Commodore), David Russell (#6 Monster Energy FGX Falcon), 2017 winner Luke Youlden (#9 Penrite ZB Commodore), Steven Richards (#888 Autobarn ZB Commodore), and James Moffat (#55 Supercheap Auto FGX Falcon).

Neither Paul Dumbrell (#1 Triple Eight ZB Commodore), Jonathon Webb (#19 Tekno Autosports ZB Commodore), nor Will Brown (#99 Erebus ZB Commodore) appeared at all.

An engine problem cut short track time for the #23 Industrial Athlete Nissan Altima of Michael Caruso and Dean Fiore as latter set just the one, somewhat representative lap during the session.

The sister #78 Harvey Norman Nissan Altima and Tickford’s #56 Rabble.Club FGX Falcon also spent time in the garage at the start of proceedings due to a gearbox and sensor problem respectively.

Practice 3, which is open to all drivers, starts at 1505 local time/AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Alexandre Premat Ford Falcon FG/X 2:35.1824
2 11 Castrol Racing Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 2:35.8261 0:00.6437
3 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Earl Bamber Holden Commodore ZB 2:35.9013 0:00.7189
4 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Dean Canto Ford Falcon FG/X 2:36.6303 0:01.4479
5 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Tony D’Alberto Ford Falcon FG/X 2:36.7785 0:01.5961
6 21 Team CoolDrive Dale Wood Holden Commodore ZB 2:36.7801 0:01.5977
7 6 Monster Energy Racing David Russell Ford Falcon FG/X 2:37.2193 0:02.0369
8 9 Erebus Penrite Racing Luke Youlden Holden Commodore ZB 2:37.6523 0:02.4699
9 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Steven Richards Holden Commodore ZB 2:37.7972 0:02.6148
10 55 Supercheap Auto Racing James Moffat Ford Falcon FG/X 2:37.8113 0:02.6289
11 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Jack Perkins Holden Commodore ZB 2:38.2488 0:03.0664
12 230 Milwaukee Racing Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 2:38.9722 0:03.7898
13 78 Team Harvey Norman Alex Rullo Nissan Altima 2:39.2353 0:04.0529
14 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Warren Luff Holden Commodore ZB 2:39.3210 0:04.1386
15 18 Preston Hire Racing Jason Bright Holden Commodore ZB 2:39.3439 0:04.1615
16 8 Repco Authorised Service Team Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 2:39.6486 0:04.4662
17 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM Richard Muscat Holden Commodore ZB 2:39.6732 0:04.4908
18 35 Bigmate Racing Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VF2 2:40.2985 0:05.1161
19 7 Castrol/Plus Fitness Racing Aaren Russell Nissan Altima 2:40.3159 0:05.1335
20 23 Industrial Athlete Racing Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 2:40.6292 0:05.4468
21 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Chris Pither Holden Commodore ZB 2:40.6679 0:05.4855
22 14 Freightliner Racing Ashley Walsh Holden Commodore ZB 2:42.0632 0:06.8808
23 56 Racing Steve Owen Ford Falcon FG/X 2:50.5328 0:15.3504

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]