Moffat takes Carrera Cup pole in soggy conditions

James Moffat

James Moffat has qualified on pole for the penultimate round of Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia in highly challenging conditions at Mount Panorama.

Moffat was fastest over Dale Wood by around a quarter of a second when the session was halted due to wild spin for Roger Lago.

While he ultimately did not need to, he braved the rain and low light to move nearly a second clear with a 2:28.9636s when proceedings resumed, perhaps mindful of the extension of the session following the red flag.

Wood appeared to not have the pace to usurp the #18 Wall Racing entry in the latter minutes but in any event was held up across the top on his second-last lap then ran off at The Chase after the chequered flag in the #100 Sonic Motor Racing car, consigning himself to second.

Series leader Jaxon Evans, too, struck traffic in the form of Michael Almond as he descended towards Murray’s Corner at the very end.

Evans was personal best to the second sector but couldn’t elevate the #7 McElrea Racing entry when he reached the control line and was instead shuffled from seventh to ninth as the last cars completed their laps.

Row 2 will be another two Sonic Motor Racing entries in Car #777 of Jordan Love and Car #77 of Almond.

David Wall (#1 Wall Racing), third in the standings, qualified fifth-fastest while the man one above him in the title race, Dylan O’Keeffe (#88 Ashley Seward Motorsport) was eighth.

Glen Wood (#888 Ashley Seward Motorsport) and Peter Major (#14 Sonic Motor Racing) were sixth and seventh respectively while Cameron Hill (#111 Cameron Hill Racing) rounded out the top 10.

Adrian Flack set the pace in TAG Heuer Pro-Am in 12th outright.

Roger Lago spins at Hell Corner pic: Fox Sports

Fellow gentleman driver Roger Lago brought out the red flag when his car’s rear end snapped away at Hell Corner just before 20 of the scheduled 30 minutes had elapsed.

Car #23 scraped the pit wall as it spun before he came to rest against the tyre wall on exit.

Lago nevertheless finished the session 15th-fastest and third in class.

Carrera Cup will be next on track tomorrow at 1405 local time/AEST for Race 1, a 16-lap affair which also serves as the second-last race of the series’ Endurance Cup.

Results: Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Fastest lap Split
1 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat P 2:28.9636
2 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 2:29.8984 0:00.9348
3 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love P 2:30.4760 0:01.5124
4 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond P 2:31.1043 0:02.1407
5 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall P 2:31.2547 0:02.2911
6 888 Porsche Centre Brighton/Porsche Glen Wood P 2:31.8092 0:02.8456
7 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major P 2:32.1336 0:03.1700
8 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe P 2:32.2334 0:03.2698
9 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans P 2:32.2773 0:03.3137
10 111 Lifeline Canberra/Seears Workw Cameron Hill P 2:32.5175 0:03.5539
11 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood P 2:32.6042 0:03.6406
12 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A 2:35.1303 0:06.1667
13 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 2:35.4226 0:06.4590
14 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 2:35.7663 0:06.8027
15 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago A 2:36.3550 0:07.3914
16 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson A 2:36.5101 0:07.5465
17 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles A 2:36.7917 0:07.8281
18 13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin A 2:37.0229 0:08.0593
19 50 Wall Racing/Brennan IT Dave Stevens A 2:37.9826 0:09.0190
20 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook A 2:39.7993 0:10.8357
21 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 2:40.2642 0:11.3006
22 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt P 2:40.7495 0:11.7859
23 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams A 2:42.5729 0:13.6093
24 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 2:42.6347 0:13.6711

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]