Seton headlines 38 car Toyota 86 field for Bathurst

Glenn Seton

Touring car legend Glenn Seton will join James Davison as the two invited Toyota 86 Racing Series drivers at the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 this weekend.

Seton headlines a 38-strong field for the series’ penultimate round, which also sees the return of New Zealander Jack Milligan at the wheel of a Toyota Australia entry.

In 26 appearances in the Bathurst 1000 between 1983 and 2010, Seton famously never won the event.

He did however stand on the podium four times, finishing in second place on three occasions and third in 2006 when driving with James Courtney at Stone Brothers Racing.

Seton has made two previous outings with the Toyota 86 Racing Series, the first at Winton in 2016 and the second later that year at Bathurst.

In the second invited driver entry is Davison, who competed for AJ Foyt at this year’s Indianapolis 500 and in the Road America NASCAR Xfinity Series race.

It marks the 32-year-old’s first appearance in the one make category, and sees him become the third Davison to compete at Mount Panorama this weekend with cousins Will and Alex sharing the Milwaukee Racing Falcon Supercar in the Bathurst 1000.

Absent from the event will be Jaylyn Robotham and Broc Feeney, with CAMS declining the 15-year-olds dispensation to compete at the Mountain.

The New South Wales Government stipulates that competitors must be 16-years-old to compete at Mount Panorama, with Robotham just 16 days short.

“It’s obviously really disappointing, I was hoping that being fifth in the Championship and having a bit of experience as well as achievements behind me, would help my case,” said Robotham.

“It’s also a real shame as this will now obviously affect my championship standings, missing a round in the Toyota 86 Series.”

Feeney, who turns 16 less than two weeks after then event, was equally disappointed to learn that he would be unable to compete.

“I can’t describe my emotions today along with all of my Family and team,” he said.

“It just shows how much passion is involved within myself and my supporters.

“I would like to send my apologies to all my sponsors, family, friends and supporters but we will be back in Newcastle

“Thank you to everyone who helped myself and Jaylyn try and race, we appreciate everything you did for us.”

Meanwhile Ellexandra Best will make her Toyota 86 debut this weekend, when she joins her brother Zak on track for  Aussie Driver Search.

Tim Brook and Luke King head into the weekend separated by just four points in the standings after an incident in the final race at Sandown saw Brook conceded much of his points advantage, with Cameron Crick 74 points further back.

The Toyota 86 Racing Series is first on track when action begins on Thursday, with the first of two practice sessions at 0715.

A second practice session follows later in the day before a sole qualifying session on Friday.

The first two races then get underway on Saturday before the final 6 lap race on Sunday morning.

Entry list: Round 5, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit

Num Team/Sponsor Driver
3 Sieders Racing Team David Sieders
6 PK Transport Jake Klein
7 Clintons Toyota / Plus Fitness Racing Cameron Crick
8 John Iafolla Racing John Iafolla
9 AISIN Products Luke King
11 Brema Group Racing Zane Morse
15 That English Bloke James Wilkins
16 Hinde Transport Benjamin Grice
17 Toyota Racing Australia Glenn Seton
19 George Gutierrez Motorsport George Gutierrez
21 Excellerate Motorsport Zach Loscialpo
23 MedCal Simon Samoilenko
27 Hi-Tec Oils / CXC Dylan Thomas
28 CGR Performance / Muller Motorsport Lachlan Gibbons
30 TEAM RSG Hayden Jackson
33 Aussie Driver Search Jake Burton
34 McLaren Real Estate Macarthur Tim Brook
36 Toyota Racing Australia James Davison
37 Adrenaline Industries Richard Peasey
38 Sieders Racing Team / Longreach Tourist Park Luke van Herwaarde
48 Auto Approve / Wilson Security Nic Carroll
55 Reynolds Auctions Gavan Reynolds
56 Luff Motors Yass Toyota Kane Baxter-Smith
60 Cam Walton Racing Cam Walton
67 Aussie Driver Search Zakkary Best
68 Sieders Racing Team / WBT Gerard Maggs
71 Aussie Driver Search Kyle Austin
74 Pulse Racing / Zen Garage Trent Grubel
76 Aussie Driver Search Ellexandra Best
78 International Motorsport Michael Scott
84 Surelinc Emily Duggan
86 Toyota Racing Australia Jack Milligan
90 Whitty Race Engineering Jarrod Whitty
96 Sieders Racing Team / WBT Jaiden Maggs
97 Liam McAdam Motorsport Liam McAdam
98 Gulson Racing Dylan Gulson
99 Hazard Solutions Graham Smith
777 Declan Fraser Racing Declan Fraser

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]