David Sieders takes over second Ranger SuperUte

Daniel Herrero

Wednesday 3rd October, 2018 - 4:49pm


David Sieders will drive the #34 Ford Ranger SuperUte

The last three V8 Ute Racing Series winners will be present in the ECB SuperUtes Series field this weekend after the late addition of David Sieders.

Sieders will take the reins of Ranger Racing’s second Ford Ranger, which is being introduced to the series this weekend after a shakedown on Sunday.

He will take the place of Matt Nolan, who has had to withdraw due to a family commitment after he was to fill in for Chelsea Angelo.

Christopher Formosa, who has raced the first built Ranger since the start of the season, says that the presence of the experienced Sieders will be a boost for the Sydney-based team run by his father Michael.

“David Sieders is filling the spot,” he confirmed to

“He’s raced a lot of things over the years so he’s been around for a while and he’s got a bit of experience.

“That’s what’s good about having a second car in the team; we can work together and share data.

“It’s been hard not having another Ranger to go off data with. It’ll be good to finally see what works and what doesn’t.

Sieders won the V8 Utes series in 2016, Kim Jane did so last year, and Ryal Harris has three to his name.

Jane is also making his first start in the new category as a stand-in for Steve Wilson in his Isuzu D-Max.

He will race in Car #1 this weekend, instead of Wilson’s usual #3, in reference to taking out the last ever V8 Utes series.

Practice 1 starts tomorrow at 0815 local time/AEST.

Entry list: Round 6, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit

Num Team Driver Car
1 Steve Wilson Racing Kim Jane Isuzu D-Max
8 Western Sydney Motorsport Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux
18 Team 18 Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado
22 Ross Stone Racing Tom Alexander Holden Colorado
34 Ranger Racing David Sieders Ford Ranger
45 Sieders Racing Team Mick Sieders Mitsubishi Triton
49 Ranger Racing Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger
52 Western Sydney Motorsport Charlotte Poynting Toyota Hilux
58 Peters Motorsport Ryal Harris Mazda BT-50
64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux
87 Sieders Racing Team Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton
95 Peters Motorsport Aaron Cameron Mazda BT-50
99 Sieders Racing Team Matt MacKelden Toyota Hilux comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!