Lorenzo snatches Aragon pole, Rossi 18th

Jorge Lorenzo pic: MotoGP.com

Jorge Lorenzo has snatched pole for the Aragon MotoGP while Valentino Rossi languishes in 18th on the grid.

The front row features this year’s three heavyweights in Lorenzo, Andrea Dovizioso, and Marc Marquez, all of whom provisionally held pole at some stage after the chequered flag.

Marquez was on top when the clock hit zero on the session thanks to the 1:46.960s set during the Repsol Honda rider’s first run.

When first runs were done, Lorenzo was second and Dovizioso fourth as Cal Crutchlow split the Ducati Team duo.

After a game of cat and mouse between Marquez and Dovizioso at the start of their respective second runs, the latter was the leader of the two on the road as they went for their next flyers right at the death.

Both went faster to the second sector than Marquez’s Run 1 benchmark, where #04 was only 0.004s faster than #93.

While Dovizioso cleared the slow-moving Alvaro Bautista into Turn 12, Marquez ran wide as he may possibly have been baulked by the Nieto Ducati.

Dovizioso went on to usurp Marquez’s lap, only to be pipped moments later by Lorenzo by 0.014s.

Crutchlow did enough to qualify fourth despite crashing his LCR Honda at the end of the session, and will line up alongside Andrea Iannone (Suzuki Ecstar) and Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda).

Row 3 is Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati), Bautista, and Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar).

Jack Miller (Pramac Ducati) rounds out the top 10, ahead of the two riders who progressed from Q1, Maverick Viñales (Movistar Yamaha) and Takaaki Nakagami (LCR Honda).

Rossi, on the other hand, is all the way down in 18th as the Movistar Yamaha team continued to battle.

The Italian seemed to wait for clear track until it was too late to set a competitive lap time.

Pol Espargaro, meanwhile, is out injured again after crashing and re-fracturing his left collarbone during Free Practice 3.

It was just the second race weekend back for the Red Bull KTM rider.

Race start (23 laps) is Sunday at 2200 AEST.

UPDATE: Grid penalties for Viñales (3 positions), Franco Morbidelli (6 positions) for impeding Bradley Smith during Q1

Qualifying: Aragon MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 1:46.881
2 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:46.895 0.014/0.014
3 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:46.960 0.079/0.065
4 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:47.146 0.265/0.186
5 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:47.169 0.288/0.023
6 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:47.224 0.343/0.055
7 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:47.351 0.470/0.127
8 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:47.678 0.797/0.327
9 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:47.737 0.856/0.059
10 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:47.792 0.911/0.055
11 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:48.284 1.403/0.474
12 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:48.052 Q1/0.043
13 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:48.181 Q1/0.129
14 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:47.810 Penalty
15 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:48.216 Q1/0.035
16 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 1:48.398 Q1/0.182
17 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:48.627 Q1/0.229
18 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:48.975 Q1/0.348
19 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:48.009 Penalty
20 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:48.988 Q1/0.013
21 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:49.303 Q1/0.315
22 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:49.699 Q1/0.396
23 81 Jordi TORRES ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:50.336 Q1/0.637

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]