Lowndes bestowed honorary Bathurst citizen award

Craig Lowndes’ last Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 triumph arrived in 2015 alongside Steven Richards

Craig Lowndes will be formally named as an honorary citizen on Bathurst at this year’s Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000.

The six-time winner of the Great Race will be contesting his last as a full-time Supercars driver when he teams up with Steven Richards behind the wheel of the #888 Triple Eight Holden next month.

Lowndes will join fellow Australian touring car legends the late Peter Brock and four-time Bathurst 1000 winner Allan Moffat as recipients of the honour.

The 44-year-old has enjoyed a wealth of success at Mount Panorama winning his first Bathurst 1000 in 1996 alongside Greg Murphy.

He then won three in a row from 2006 to 2008 when he partnered Jamie Whincup, before returning to the top step in 2010 and 2015.

Lowndes has also won the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour twice with his first arriving in 2014 followed by a success in 2017.

“It is a great honour to be recognised as an Honorary Citizen,” said Lowndes.

“Bathurst and I share a lot of history and Mount Panorama is a place I consider very special. It’s an icon of Australian motorsport, but also a place very close to my heart”.

Mayor of Bathurst Cr Graeme Hanger OAM said it was fitting that Lowndes, who debuted at Bathurst in 1994, be awarded the honour at his last appearance at Bathurst as a full-time Supercars driver.

“Craig will join just 18 other people who have been honoured with the title honorary citizen, and he joins fellow racing drivers including Peter Brock and Allan Moffat, artist Dr Lloyd Rees and owners of the Mars confectionary company John & Adrienne Mars on that list,” said Hanger.

“Craig is a three-time Supercars Championship winner, a five times Barry Sheene Medal recipient, a six-time Bathurst winner, a two-time Bathurst 12 Hour winner and the first driver in Australian history to reach 100 Championship race wins.

“He was also awarded an Order of Australia Medal for services to both the community through his road safety work and to his sport. He is also a firm fan favourite.

“Craig has also recently voiced an app for Council which tells some of the motorsport stories associated with the iconic Mount Panorama circuit.”

The title, honorary citizen of Bathurst, is awarded to those who are not citizens of the city, but who have contributed beyond the call of duty to the city.

Honorary Bathurst Cititzens

John Reid AO    29 September 1979
George Hibbert  29 September 1979
John Hinxman    26 June 1981
Peter Brock     7 July 1981
Allan Moffat    3 October 1981
Dr Lloyd Rees   6 October 1981
Harry Bartrop   8 April 1982
William Bowmore OBE     21 November 1983
Rt Hon Henry, 8th Earl Bathurst 18 March 1985
Arthur B Blizzard       4 April 1985
James C Kelso   30 August 1993
Prof C D Blake AM       4 May 1998
Mr Don & Mrs Colleen Liddle     16 July 2014
Mr Sonny Sonobe 20 August 2014
Mr John Mars KBE & Mrs Adrienne Mars   16 March 2016
Prof Warren Somerville  13 December 2017

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]