Tanak moves to second in WRC with Turkey win

Ott Tanak

Ott Tanak has won Rally Turkey to move to second in the standings while Thierry Neuville and Sebastien Ogier salvaged solid Power Points hauls after disastrous Saturdays.

Neuville arrived first and Ogier second in the World Rally Championship and held those positions after the first full day before both retired due to a suspension failure and an impact with a tree, respectively.

They restarted on the final day and each managed to earn five crucial championship points, although Tanak’s event win means that the Toyota Gazoo driver now splits them in the standings.

Neuville won the day’s first running of the Marmaris stage in his Hyundai and again when it served as the rally-ending Power Stage.

It meant that he preserved his 23-point lead over Ogier after the M-Sport Ford driver clawed back one point for finishing the event in 10th before going runner-up through the Power Stage.

The Frenchman fell only 1.6s short of Neuville on the final stage despite being hampered by a left-rear puncture, having won the other two stages of the day.

Tanak saw the rally lead fall in his lap amid the chaos of Saturday, when team-mate Jari-Matti Latvala ended up behind him on the timesheets with a healthy margin to third position.

As such, Toyota Gazoo Racing ordered its drivers to not make the final day a contest.

As long as the Estonian kept his Yaris straight, the main point of interest was the Power Stage, in which Tanak collected three points to close the gap to Neuville to 13 points.

Hayden Paddon was similarly destined for third on the final day in Turkey, and so it was that the Hyundai driver scored his first podium of the season.

“When you’re in ‘no man’s land’ it can be really hard because you have to look after the car,” said the New Zealander.

“It can be really painful but it’s what you have to do.

“I am really happy to take our first podium of the season. It has been a very tough rally.

“We have adopted a particular strategy this weekend that has required us to hold back and be patient. Thankfully that approach has paid off and we have been rewarded with third place – it’s been a while since we’ve been on the podium!

“It hasn’t been the rally that the team wanted or deserved. I am fully behind them coming back in the final rounds of the season and I am personally looking forward to Wales Rally GB.”

Teemu Suninen (M-Sport Ford) remained fourth and Andreas Mikkelsen (Hyundai) fifth, while the other Power Stage points went to Latvala (fourth on stage) and Elfyn Evans (M-Sport Ford, fifth on stage).

Round 10 of 13 is Wales Rally GB on Octover 4-7, when Paddon will again be in the #6 i20.

Highlights: Stages 14 to 17

Rally Turkey: Results (Top 10)

Pos Num Driver Nat Team Car   Time/Gap
1 8 Ott Tanak EST Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC 3:59:24.5
2 7 Jari-Matti Latvala FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +22.3
3 6 Hayden Paddon NZL Hyundai i20 WRC +1:46.3
4 3 Teemu Suninen FIN M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +4:10.9
5 4 Andreas Mikkelsen NOR Hyundai i20 WRC +7:11.7
6 81 Henning Solberg NOR Henning Solberg Fabia R5 WRC2 +13:40.6
7 32 Jan Kopecky CZE Skoda Fabia R5 WRC2 +18:25.2
8 37 Simone Tempestini ROU Simone Tempestini C3 R5 WRC2 +19:37.1
9 39 Chris Ingram GBR Toksport Fabia R5 WRC2 +20:21.3
10 1 Sebastien Ogier FRA M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +20:51.2

Rally Turkey: Power Stage (Bonus points)

Pos Num Driver Nat Team Car Time/Gap Bonus
1 5 Thierry Neuville BEL Hyundai i20 WRC 4:59.5 5
2 1 Sebastien Ogier FRA M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +1.6 4
3 8 Ott Tanak EST Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +3.8 3
4 7 Jari-Matti Latvala FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +6.4 2
5 2 Elfyn Evans GBR M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +7.9 1

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Nat Pts
1 Thierry Neuville BEL 177
2 Ott Tanak EST 164
3 Sebastien Ogier FRA 154
4 Esapekka Lappi FIN 88
5 Jari-Matti Latvala FIN 75
6 Andreas Mikkelsen NOR 75
7 Dani Sordo ESP 60
8 Teemu Suninen FIN 54
9 Elfyn Evans GBR 53
10 Hayden Paddon NZL 49
11 Mads Ostberg NOR 48
12 Craig Breen IRL 47
13 Kris Meeke GBR 43
14 Jan Kopecky CZE 17
15 Sebastien Loeb FRA 15
16 Pontus Tidemand SWE 11
17 Henning Solberg NOR 8
18 Bryan Bouffier FRA 4
19 Marijan Griebel GER 4
20 Simone Tempestini ROU 4
21 Gus Greensmith GBR 2
22 Lukasz Pieniazek POL 2
23 Chris Ingram GBR 2
24 Pedro Heller CHI 1
25 Yoann Bonato FRA 1
26 Stephane Lefebvre FRA 1
27 Kalle Rovanpera FIN 1
28 Khalid Al Qassimi UAE 0
29 Jourdan Serderidis GRE 0

Manufacturers’ championship

Pos Team Pts
1 Toyota Gazoo Racing 284
2 Hyundai WRT 279
3 M-Sport Ford WRT 244
4 Citroen WRT 169

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]