Jacobson takes pole for Super2 Race 2

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson has broken the practice record on his way, provisionally, to Armor All Pole Position for Race 2 of the Dunlop Super2 Series at Sandown.

Jacobson clocked a 1:08.5820s after the chequered flag as the field ran on super soft tyres for the first round in five years.

There is a level of uncertainty about the result, however, given that Race Control announced an investigation into contact between he and Chris Pither at the end of the first runs.

Pither was on a fast lap, personal best to the second sector, when he came up on Jacobson and nudged the #26 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima through Dandenong Road.

The Kiwi pitted the slightly dented #44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore at the end of the lap while his engineer David Swenson confirmed that the car was on warm up tyres for the first run, like the bulk of the field.

There was no subsequent notification on the timing monitor about the outcome of the investigation.

In any event, Brodie Kostecki will start from the front row fresh off his first race win in the series the afternoon prior.

He had been the first under the practice record on his second flyer in the #57 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore, a lap which held up all the way until Jacobson’s late effort.

Paul Dumbrell (#88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) and Pither came in within 0.2s of Jacobson’s time to qualify on the second row, while Dean Fiore was the other man under Pither’s two-day-old practice record.

Rounding out the top 10 were Kurt Kostecki (#55 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore), Macauley Jones (#14 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore), Alex Rullo (#62 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima), Thomas Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon), and Jake Kostecki (#56 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore).

Pirtek Enduro Cup co-drivers Bryce Fullwood (#16 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) and Will Brown (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) qualified on the sixth row.

The second and final race of the weekend, scheduled for 22 laps, starts at 1205 local time/AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 26 MEGA Fuels / MWM Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 1:08.5820  
2 57 Arcoplate Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:08.6850 0:00.1030
3 88 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 1:08.7169 0:00.1349
4 44 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 1:08.7259 0:00.1439
5 23 MW Motorsport Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 1:08.8339 0:00.2519
6 55 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:08.9517 0:00.3697
7 14 Payce Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 1:09.0021 0:00.4201
8 62 Land Surveys / MWM Alex Rullo Nissan Altima 1:09.0217 0:00.4397
9 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.0382 0:00.4562
10 56 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:09.0920 0:00.5100
11 16 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VF 1:09.0965 0:00.5145
12 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 1:09.1726 0:00.5906
13 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 1:09.1998 0:00.6178
14 49 Dynamic Supplies Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4035 0:00.8215
15 54 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4638 0:00.8818
16 8 BGD Architects Zane Goddard Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4804 0:00.8984
17 15 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 1:09.4933 0:00.9113
18 63 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Holden Commodore VF 1:09.5280 0:00.9460
19 99 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 1:09.5292 0:00.9472
20 67 Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG/X 1:09.5460 0:00.9640
21 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7011 0:01.1191
22 51 Grove Hire Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 1:09.7254 0:01.1434
23 50 MotorsportPartsAustralia.com.a Ricky Capo Holden Commodore VF 1:09.8098 0:01.2278

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]