Bowe set for milestone race at Sandown

John Bowe

John Bowe is set to make his 1100th championship race start in this weekend’s Paynter Dixon Touring Car Masters round at Sandown.

The veteran should notch up the milestone in Saturday morning’s Dometic Trophy Race, the first of four for the series at the similarly historic Melbourne circuit.

Bowe has so far amassed five series and 94 race wins in Touring Car Masters, both records, and is currently on top of the table with 18 points over Steve Johnson both outright and in the ProMasters class.

Johnson has 10 race wins to date compared to Bowe’s four but has been hurt by a number of DNFs.

As previously reported, the XD Falcon will appear in the series for the first time with a full TCM-spec version for Marcus Zukanovic and another running as an Invited car in the hands of state racer Damien Gambold, and Cameron Tilley has upgraded his Valiant Pacer to a V8,

Returning to the field after spells on the sideline are Rusty French (1970 Ford Mustang), Paul Freestone (1969 Chevrolet Camaro), Brett Curran (1967 Ford Mustang), Blu Cannon (1971 Ford Falcon), Brad Tilley (1971 Ford Falcon), and his son Jamie Tilley (1964 Ford Mustang).

Further bolstering the entry list to 27 is Dean Lillie in a race-winning 1972 Holden HQ Monaro GTS 350, whose only previous TCM round start was at Symmons Plains in 2008.

Round 6 of Touring Car Masters supports the Rabble.Club Sandown 500 from this Friday.

Entry list: Round 6, Sandown International Motor Raceway

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Year Make Model
3 Lake Macquarie Sheet Metal / Toronto Hotel Cameron Mason 1966 Ford Mustang Fastback
4 Skye Sands Rusty French 1970 Ford Mustang Fastback
5 ACDelco Bruce Williams 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
6 Multispares Racing Ryan Hansford 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
7 MOCOMM Motorsport Communications Jim Policina 1974 Holden Torana A9X
9 Jesus Racing Andrew Fisher 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO
11 Halkin Developments Graeme Crawford 1973 Ford Falcon XA GT
15 Accelerated Excavations / Downeys Group Aust Dean Lillie 1972 Holden Monaro GTS Coupe
17 WM Waste / Herrod Performance Steve Johnson 1969 Ford Mustang Fastback
18 Wilson Security / PAYCE John Bowe 1974 Holden Torana SL/R 5000
25 Maxi-Trans Trailers Paul Freestone 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
28 Speedgas / ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Brad Tilley 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT HO
29 Burrells Soils & Sand / Brad Tilley Auto Garage Jamie Tilley 1964 Ford Mustang Coupe
35 Bigmate Racing Jason Gomersall 1978 Holden Torana A9X Hatchback
37 Gambold Mechanical Damien Gambold 1980 Ford Falcon XD
46 THD Motorsport Leo Tobin 1969 Ford Boss Mustang
52 Angliss Meats Brett Curran 1967 Ford Mustang Fastback
57 Graham Alexander Graham Alexander 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
60 Carry On Victoria / ANGLOMOIL Lubricants Cameron Tilley 1969 Valiant Pacer
65 Cannon Trailers Michael (Blu) Cannon 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT
69 Fataz Competition Engines Ian Woodward 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
71 Action Racing / LMF Constructions Markus Zukanovic 1980 Ford Falcon XD
75 Ranger Lifting-Rigging-Safety Aaron McGill 1971 Ford Falcon XY GT
85 Whiteline Racing / King Springs Mark King 1970 Chevrolet Camaro RS
88 TIFS – Warehousing & Distribution Tony Karanfilovski 1969 Ford Mustang Trans Am
95 Whiteline Racing / VDC Adam Bressington 1969 Chevrolet Camaro SS
97 Johns Furniture Removals Allen Boughen 1963 Mercury Comet

Schedule: Round 6, Sandown International Motor Raceway

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday September 14
1010 Practice 20min
1500 Qualifying 20min
Saturday September 15
0905 Trophy Race 6 laps
1250 Race 16 10 laps
1705 Race 17 10 laps
Sunday September 16
1130 Race 18 10 laps

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]