Dovizioso wins but Lorenzo crashes at Misano

Andrea Dovizioso pic:

Andrea Dovizioso has picked up a third win of the MotoGP season in Misano but Jorge Lorenzo cost the Ducati Team a one-two with a penultimate lap crash.

Lorenzo looked to have seen off Marc Marquez in the race for second before he went down, while Jack Miller was not a factor from second on the grid due to an early spill on his Pramac Ducati.

Championship leader Marquez was instead handed another four points while Cal Crutchlow assumed the final podium position on his LCR Honda.

Lorenzo led the field away from pole position as Marquez braked late at the first corner to slot into third, behind Miller, from a start of fifth.

Dovizioso, however, was keen to go with his team-mate and picked off both Marquez and Miller before the end of Lap 1.

Marquez jammed his Repsol Honda down the inside of Miller at Turn 14 on Lap 2, forcing #43 to pick his bike up, before the Australian went down at the same corner a lap later.

Dovizioso tailed Lorenzo until he slipped past #99 at Turn 7 on Lap 6 and put a second on the Spaniard in the next five laps.

By then, Marquez was pressuring his future team-mate and took over second position when Lorenzo ran slightly wide at the Turn 14 hairpin on Lap 14.

Lorenzo twice repassed Marquez but each time couldn’t stick the move until he went charging through at the fast Turn 12 on Lap 19.

Meanwhile, Dovizioso was as much as 2.325s to the good at the end of Lap 21, only for Lorenzo and Marquez to begin to catch him.

With a handful of laps remaining, however, it became apparent that the Italian was in fact managing the margin as he went on to a comfortable win and gave Ducati a sweep of the two races on Italian soil in 2018.

Even then, when Lorenzo looked fairly secure in second position and had nothing else to gain, he lost the front end of his Ducati at Turn 8 on Lap 26.

Marquez ultimately finished second by 2.822s and stretched his championship lead to 67 points, with Dovizioso displacing Valentino Rossi from second position in the standings.

“Not like this no,” said Dovizioso when asked if he would win in such fashion.

“I’m really happy because I did everything perfect and that was the only way to win today because Jorge was very strong and to beat Marc was very difficult.

“I’m so happy also because I never win in Misano and it’s something I really wanted.”

Crutchlow took third having overtaken Alex Rins on Lap 9 when the Suzuki Ecstar rider had to start conserving his soft compound tyres.

Rins nevertheless did enough to pick up fourth position ahead of Movistar Yamaha’s Maverick Viñales, who started from the front row but had a now typically sluggish opening to the race.

Rounding out the top 10 were Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda), Rossi (Movistar Yamaha), Andrea Iannone (Suzuki Ecstar), Alvaro Bautista (Nieto Ducati), and Johann Zarco (Tech3 Yamaha).

Lorenzo remounted but finished outside the points in 17th, a position ahead of Miller.

Stefan Bradl (HRC Honda) and Xavier Simeon (Avintia Ducati) failed to finish due to crashes while Pole Espargaro (Red Bull KTM) was also a retirement.

The next round is the Aragon MotoGP on September 21-23.

Race results: San Marino MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time/Gap
1 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 42:05.426
2 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda +2.822
3 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda +7.269
4 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +14.687
5 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +16.016
6 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda +17.408
7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha +19.086
8 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki +21.804
9 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati +23.919
10 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +27.559
11 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +30.698
12 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda +32.941
13 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda +33.461
14 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +35.686
15 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Team Ducati +35.812
16 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM +46.500
17 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati +46.614
18 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati +50.593
19 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +55.168
20 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati +1’02.255
21 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia +1’09.475
22 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda +1’12.608
23 23 Christophe PONSSON FRA Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1 Lap
DNF 6 Stefan BRADL GER HRC Honda Team Honda 10 Laps
DNF 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 10 Laps
DNF 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 25 Laps

Championship points

Pos Rider Nat Pts
1 Marc MARQUEZ ESP 221
2 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA 154
3 Valentino ROSSI ITA 151
4 Jorge LORENZO ESP 130
5 Maverick VIÑALES ESP 124
7 Johann ZARCO FRA 110
8 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA 110
9 Andrea IANNONE ITA 92
10 Alex RINS ESP 79
11 Dani PEDROSA ESP 76
12 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP 64
13 Jack MILLER AUS 61
14 Tito RABAT ESP 35
17 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL 24
19 Bradley SMITH GBR 15
20 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN 14
21 Scott REDDING GBR 12
22 Mika KALLIO FIN 6
23 Karel ABRAHAM CZE 4
24 Michele PIRRO ITA 1
25 Thomas LUTHI SWI  
26 Stefan BRADL GER  
27 Xavier SIMEON BEL  
28 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA  
29 Christophe PONSSON FRA  

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]