MotoGP releases mostly unchanged 2019 calendar

The 2019 MotoGP calendar has been released pic:

Dorna has released a largely unchanged provisional calendar for the 2019 MotoGP World Championship with no new races to add.

The season will again run for 19 rounds and is virtually a repeat of 2018 but for some rounds being moved forward or back by a week.

The Australian MotoGP at Phillip Island will again run on the weekend ending on the fourth Sunday of October (October 27).

A new round had been set to be added in Finland but construction on the KymiRing will not be finished in time.

Dorna had been looking at going to Mexico’s Formula 1 venue Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez in its place, but riders objected on safety grounds and the round is off for now.

At the start of the season, the flyaway races in Qatar, Argentina, and the United States of America all take place a week earlier.

The European phase of the season is unchanged until the German MotoGP, which also comes forward to take up the weekend immediately following the Dutch TT and restore the summer break to four weeks.

Furthermore, the German round remains at the Sachsenring despite reports of ADAC investigating a move.

San Marino is the only round to shift backwards to avoid a clash with the Italian F1 Grand Prix, meaning that it and Aragon also run back-to-back.

The Asia-Pacific flyaways hold their current slots, as does the season-ending Valencia MotoGP in mid-November.

A revised pre-season testing schedule was issued in August, but will begin as usual after this year’s Valencia round.

The current season continues this weekend at Misano.

MotoGP 2019 provisional calendar

Rnd Date Grand Prix Circuit
1 Mar 10 Qatar* Losail International Circuit
2 Mar 31 República Argentina Termas de Río Hondo
3 Apr 14 Americas Circuit of the Americas
4 May 5 Spain Circuito de Jerez
5 May 19 France Le Mans
6 Jun 2 Italy Autodromo del Mugello
7 Jun 16 Catalunya Barcelona – Catalunya
8 Jun 30 Netherlands TT Circuit Assen
9 Jul 7 Germany Sachsenring
10 Aug 4 Czech Republic Automotodrom Brno
11 Aug 11 Austria Red Bull Ring – Spielberg
12 Aug 25 Great Britain Silverstone Circuit
13 Sep 15 San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli
14 Sep 22 Aragón MotorLand Aragón
15 Oct 6 Thailand Chang International Circuit
16 Oct 20 Japan Twin Ring Motegi
17 Oct 27 Australia Phillip Island
18 Nov 3 Malaysia Sepang International Circuit
19 Nov 17 Comunitat Valenciana Comunitat Valenciana – Ricardo Tormo

* Night race

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]