Lorenzo on pole in changeable Silverstone conditions

Daniel Herrero

Sunday 26th August, 2018 - 2:24am


Jorge Lorenzo

Jorge Lorenzo has secured pole position for the British MotoGP after a qualifying session which was run on a drying Silverstone Circuit.

The Spaniard led Andrea Dovizioso to a Ducati team one-two while Johann Zarco also put his Tech3 Yamaha on the front row.

Qualifying was delayed due to a nasty incident for Tito Rabat at the end of Free Practice 4, when the Spaniard was struck by Franco Morbidelli’s bike having already gone down himself.

The second 15-minute stanza was pushed back further due to an unspecified safety issue, believed to be related to the availability of the helicopter which had been airlifting Rabat to hospital.

When it did get underway, Bradley Smith (Red Bull KTM) was initially fastest with a 2:12.894 having experienced the conditions in Qualifying 1.

Jack Miller (Pramac Ducati) and then Lorenzo moved the mark before Cal Crutchlow (LCR Honda) and Zarco dipped into the 2:11s bracket.

Meanwhile, Miller had become the first (and ultimately only) rider to switch to slicks.

The Australian skated off but remained upright and as Dovizioso and Lorenzo got down to the 2:10s, either side of the chequered flag being unfurled, Miller went fastest to the first sector.

However, his lap blew out to 2.7s slower to the second sector and he ended up ninth.

Zarco’s fastest lap came moments after Crutchlow’s and bumped the LCR Honda rider back to fourth, where he will start alongside Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda) and Danilo Petrucci (Pramac Ducati).

Andrea Iannone (Suzuki Ecstar) and Smith will take up Row 3, next to Miller.

Alex Rins (Suzuki Ecstar) was the other to come through Q1 on his way to 10th, ahead of Movistar Yamaha pair Maverick Viñales and Valentino Rossi.

UPDATED: Race start for the 20-lap grand prix is Sunday night at 2030 AEST.

Qualifying: British MotoGP

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 2:10.155
2 04 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 2:10.314 0.159 / 0.159
3 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2:10.439 0.284 / 0.125
4 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 2:10.615 0.460 / 0.176
5 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 2:11.083 0.928 / 0.468
6 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 2:11.317 1.162 / 0.234
7 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 2:11.495 1.340 / 0.178
8 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2:11.514 1.359 / 0.019
9 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 2:12.173 2.018 / 0.659
10 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 2:12.504 2.349 / 0.331
11 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2:12.514 2.359 / 0.010
12 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 2:13.504 3.349 / 0.990
13 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2:13.945 Q1 / Q1
14 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 2:14.171 Q1 / 0.226
15 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 2:14.198 Q1 / 0.027
16 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 2:14.866 Q1 / 0.668
17 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 2:15.141 Q1 / 0.275
18 76 Loris BAZ FRA Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 2:15.299 Q1 / 0.158
19 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 2:15.377 Q1 / 0.078
20 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Angel Nieto Team Ducati 2:15.721 Q1 / 0.344
21 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA ESP Angel Nieto Team Ducati 2:16.106 Q1 / 0.385
22 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 2:16.451 Q1 / 0.345
23 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 2:16.483 Q1 / 0.032
53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!