Hamilton claims Belgian GP pole

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton has seized pole position by seven tenths of a second ahead of Sunday’s Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps.

Rain in the final part of the session threw a late spanner in the works, with Hamilton making the most of the conditions to claim his fifth pole at the Ardennes circuit.

Equally impressive however was the performance of Racing Point Force India, which locked out the second row with an incredible performance just days after it looked as though the team would be forced to sit out the event.

Both Esteban Ocon and Sergio Perez were left out on slicks initially, with Perez lucky not to crash out at Eau Rouge, before switching to intermediate tyres a lap later than the rest of the field.

Despite the late change, Ocon recorded his best career qualifying result with third, one place up on Perez.

Red Bull opted for a low downforce set-up in an effort to counter its lack of straight line speed, but paid heavily for the gamble as the rain consigned Max Verstappen and Daniel Ricciardo to seventh and eighth respectively.

Valtteri Bottas chose not to set a time at all in the final part of qualifying, since an engine change will see him drop to the rear of the grid regardless.

It was the same approach Renault employed for Nico Hulkenberg in Qualifying 2, leaving Renault 15th and 16th on the grid after Carlos Sainz was a high profile victim in Qualifying 1.

Sauber drivers Marcus Ericsson and Charles Leclerc escaped the first cull, unlike both Williams and McLarens, which found themselves rooted to the back two rows of the grid.

For Hamilton, the result marked his 78th career F1 pole, and fifth at Spa-Francorchamps which is a new record in itself.

The Belgian Grand Prix is scheduled to being at 2310 AEST on Sunday.

Result: Belgian Formula 1 Grand Prix, Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1:58.179
2 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 1:58.905
3 Esteban Ocon Racing Point Force India Mercedes 2:01.851
4 Sergio Perez Racing Point Force India Mercedes 2:01.894
5 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 2:02.122
6 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 2:02.671
7 Max Verstappen Red Bull Renault 2:02.769
8 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 2:02.939
9 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 2:04.933
10 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes
11 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso Honda 1:43.844
12 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso Honda 1:43.865
13 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 1:44.062
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 1:44.301
15 Nico Hulkenberg Renault
16 Carlos Sainz Renault 1:44.489
17 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 1:44.917
18 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 1:44.998
19 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 1:45.134
20 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 1:45.307

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]