Red Bull HRT sets pace at The Bend

Friday 24th August, 2018 - 4:40pm


Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen beat team-mate Jamie Whincup by half a second as they finished first and second in practice on the opening day of the OTR SuperSprint at The Bend.

The Red Bull Holden Racing Team duo and Practice 1 fast man Tim Slade were the only three drivers to drop under 1:50s bracket during their green tyre runs in the second 45-minute session of the day.

Van Gisbergen spent almost the entirety of Practice 2 in the lead having reeled out a 1:50.1652s on his first flyer.

That time stood up as the benchmark until the #14 Freightliner ZB Commodore took on new tyres and Slade clocked a 1:49.7093s.

Van Gisbergen was on his hot lap at the same time, however, and went nearly a second faster again with a 1:48.7499 in the #97 ZB Commodore.

Whincup then split them with a 1:49.3231s, 0.5732s slower than his team-mate.

Chaz Mostert was another half-second off Slade’s pace as he ended up the fastest Ford driver for the second session in a row in the #55 Supercheap Auto FGX Falcon.

“There’s still a fair bit left and obviously there is; there is no way we’re genuinely a second faster,” said van Gisbergen.

“The track’s tough, there’s probably people making mistakes. There’s probably half a second in driving and a fair bit left in car.

“We’ll see the evolution of that over the weekend.”

Nick Percat (#8 Mobil ZB Commodore) finished fifth but was the only driver in the top 15 to not improve in his final run.

Three Nissans followed in the form of Rick Kelly (#15 Castrol Altima), Simona de Silvestro (#78 Harvey Norman Altima), and Andre Heimgartner (#7 Plus Fitness Altima).

Mark Winterbottom (#5 The Bottle-O FGX Falcon) and Scott Pye (#2 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore) rounded out the top 10.

Scott McLaughlin (#17 Shell V-Power FGX Falcon) ended up only 12th after sliding off the dirt exiting Turn 13 during his green tyre run.

Craig Lowndes was seen sliding or running off-road several times in the #888 Autobarn ZB Commodore on his way to 27th, nearly 3.7s off the pace.

There will be a third 45-minute practice session for the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship field tomorrow at 1035 local time/1105 AEST.

Results: Supercars Practice 2

1  97  Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:48.7499RS
2   1  Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.3231rS 00.5732
3  14  Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:49.7093rS 00.9594
4  55  Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:50.2403 S 01.4904
5   8  X-Convenience – Mobil Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.3341 S 01.5842
6  15  Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:50.4181 S 01.6682
7  78  Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:50.4997 S 01.7498
8   7  Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:50.5492 S 01.7993
9   5  The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:50.5599 S 01.8100
10   2  Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.5884 S 01.8385
11  21  Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.7163 S 01.9664
12  17  Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:50.8917 S 02.1418
13 230  Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 1:50.9424 S 02.1925
14  18  Preston Hire Racing L.Holdsworth/J.Bright Holden Commodore ZB 1:50.9834 S 02.2335
15   9  Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.0158 S 02.2659
16  23  Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:51.0391 S 02.2892
17  56 Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:51.0515 S 02.3016
18   4  DrillPro Racing Macauley Jones Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.0994 S 02.3495
19  35  Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Holden Commodore VF 1:51.1867 S 02.4368
20  25  Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.1909 S 02.4410
21   6  Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:51.2037 S 02.4538
22  99  Erebus Motorsport Anton de Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.2070 S 02.4571
23  19  Tekno Autosport Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.8586 S 03.1087
24  33  Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1:51.9310 S 03.1811
25  12  Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:52.0252 S 03.2753
26  42  Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 1:52.2995 S 03.5496
27 888  Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1:52.4465 S 03.6966
28  34  Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:54.1096 S 05.3597 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!