Carrera Cup field set for The Bend

Sam Shahin returns to Carrera Cup at The Bend

A 23-car field has been confirmed for Round 6 of Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The round is headlined by the resumption of the Endurance Cup with Race 1 of the weekend, to be run over 20 laps (99km), serving as the fourth of six races in the series within a series.

Dale Wood currently leads the Endurance Cup Pro class contest while Stephen Grove holds sway in the TAG Heuer Pro-Am enduro standings.

Jaxon Evans leads the series overall, although Dylan O’Keeffe closed the gap last time out at Sydney Motorsport Park thanks in part to a breakthrough race win.

A notable inclusion this weekend is Sam Shahin, executive director of The Bend Motorsport Park, who returns after missing the last two rounds of Carrera Cup.

Shahin already has official experience in Porsche 911 GT3 Cup machinery at The Bend having taken Pro-Am round honours in this year’s Porsche Michelin GT3 Cup Challenge opener at the South Australian circuit.

Carrera Cup track activity commences this Friday at the OTR SuperSprint with two 30-minute practice sessions.

Entry list: Round 6, The Bend Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class
1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall Pro
4 Grove Group Stephen Grove TAG Heuer Pro-Am
6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage 1 Tim Miles TAG Heuer Pro-Am
7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans Pro
8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride Pro
9 Hallmarc Marc Cini TAG Heuer Pro-Am
12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood Pro
13 The Bend/htfu Sam Shahin TAG Heuer Pro-Am
14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major Pro
18 PAYCE/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat Pro
19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson TAG Heuer Pro-Am
20 Agas National Adrian Flack TAG Heuer Pro-Am
22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook TAG Heuer Pro-Am
23 JBS Australia Roger Lago TAG Heuer Pro-Am
35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee TAG Heuer Pro-Am
77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond Pro
80 WM Waste Management Max Twigg TAG Heuer Pro-Am
88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe Pro
100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood Pro
111 BAXX Australia Cameron Hill Pro
131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams TAG Heuer Pro-Am
777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love Pro
888 Porsche Centre Brighton/Porsche Centre Doncaster Glen Wood Pro

Schedule: Round 6

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday 24 August
1000 Practice 1 30min
1420 Practice 2 30min
Saturday 25 August
1205 Qualifying 20min
1450 Race 1 20 laps
Sunday 26 August
0945 Race 2 8 laps
1235 Race 3 8 laps

Local time/ACST; add 30min for AEST

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]