Tanak doubles up with Rally Germany win

Ott Tanak

Ott Tanak won Rally Germany to take his second consecutive World Rally Championship event win for Toyota.

The Estonian dominated the event, leading from the opening special stage on Thursday, to win by 39.2s over Thierry Neuville.

It marked his second successive victory following his win over Mads Ostberg in Finland last month, and sees him now closing on Sebastien Ogier for second in the championship battle.

“This was definitely the hardest victory I have ever had,” said Tanak.

“For the majority of the weekend it was a really close fight and I had to push so hard. On Friday in the vineyards I felt very comfortable with the car.

“On Saturday morning I did not feel so confident, but the team really improved the car in service. Today I just needed to keep it clean.

“I am really happy for the whole team; we were really strong this weekend.

“We are moving in the right direction in the championship but I am still taking it event-by-event; Now my focus is on Turkey and trying to be as well prepared as possible.”

Neuville rose from fourth at the end of Saturday to end the rally second, but moved up the order courtesy of victory on the opening stage on Sunday.

Ogier too improved, winning the day’s two other stages to climb from seventh to fourth.

The Frenchman also limited the damage to his championship chase with victory in the rally-ending power stage.

With second in the bag, Neuville was cautious in his run through the stage, taking just a single point, while Ogier claimed five.

It saw Ogier take 17 points from the weekend versus Neuville’s 19.

Both gained when Dani Sordo and Jari-Matti Latvala were eliminated following the day’s first stage.

Latvala suffered transmission problems which saw him limp back to service before retiring, while an off for Sordo left the Hyundai with heavy damage.

The Spaniard initially tried to continue, but eventually had to cede defeat and retired from the rally.

That saw Esapekka Lappi come home third to complete the podium ahead of Ogier.

Neuville now holds a 23-point advantage over Ogier, with Tanak just seven points further back in third.

The World Rally Championship next heads to Turkey on September 13-16.

Rallye Deutschland: Results (Top 10)

Pos Num Driver Nat Team Car   Time/Gap
1 8 Ott Tanak EST Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC 3:03:36.9
2 5 Thierry Neuville BEL Hyundai i20 WRC +39.2
3 9 Esapekka Lappi FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +1:00.9
4 1 Sebastien Ogier FRA M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +1:34.5
5 3 Timo Suninen FIN M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +2:02.9
6 4 Andreas Mikkelsen NOR Hyundai i20 WRC +2:13.8
7 11 Craig Breen IRL Citroen C3 WRC +2:39.1
8 22 Marijan Griebel DEU Marijan Griebel DS3 WRC +10:41.2
9 31 Jan Kopecky CZE Skoda Motorsport II Fabia R5 WRC2 +13:12.8
10 44 Kalle Rovanpera FIN Skoda Motorsport II Fabia R5 WRC2 +13:16.6

Rallye Deutschland: Power Stage (Top 10)

Pos Num Driver Nat Team Car Time/Gap Bonus
1 1 Sebastien Ogier FRA M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC 7:15.0 5
2 8 Ott Tanak EST Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +0.1 4
3 9 Esapekka Lappi FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +4.0 3
4 11 Craig Breen IRL Citroen C3 WRC +4.2 2
5 5 Thierry Neuville BEL Hyundai i20 WRC +6.7 1

Drivers’ championship

Pos Driver Nat Pts
1 Thierry Neuville BEL 172
2 Sebastien Ogier FRA 149
3 Ott Tanak EST 136
4 Esapekka Lappi FIN 88
5 Andreas Mikkelsen NOR 65
6 Dani Sordo ESP 60
7 Jari-Matti Latvala FIN 55
8 Elfyn Evans GBR 52
9 Mads Ostberg NOR 48
10 Craig Breen IRL 47
11 Kris Meeke GBR 43
12 Teemu Suninen FIN 42
13 Hayden Paddon NZL 34
14 Sébastien Loeb FRA 15
15 Pontus Tidemand SWE 11
16 Jan Kopecky CZE 11
17 Bryan Bouffier FRA 4
18 Marijan Griebel GER 4
19 Gus Greensmith GBR 2
20 Lukasz Pieniazek POL 2
21 Pedro Heller CHI 1
22 Yoann Bonato FRA 1
23 Stephane Lefebvre FRA 1
24 Kalle Rovanpera FIN 1
25 Henning Solberg NOR 0
26 Khalid Al Qassimi UAE 0
27 Jourdan Serderidis GRE 0

Manufacturers’ championship

Pos Team Pts
1 Hyundai WRT 254
2 Toyota Gazoo Racing 241
3 M-Sport Ford WRT 224
4 Citroen WRT 159

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]