24 Hours of Le Mans: Live updates presented by…CLICK HERE

Penske confirms Power to stay on for 2019

Daniel Herrero

Monday 20th August, 2018 - 12:14pm


Will Power

Roger Penske has confirmed that Will Power and Simon Pagenaud will continue with his IndyCar team into 2019.

Speaking at the ABC Supply 500 weekend at Pocono Raceway, Penske stated, “Yes, everything is set and everyone is coming back,” according to

“It’s a good group,” he added.

Power won the Verizon IndyCar Series with Team Penske in 2014 and took victory in the Indianapolis 500 for the first time earlier this year.

At Pocono, the Toowoomba driver became the equal-second-most prolific pole-sitter in IndyCar history alongside the legendary AJ Foyt.

His 34 race wins, the most recent of which was the Indy 500, tie him for eighth all-time with Al Unser Jnr.

Pagenaud’s winless season to date meant that his future was less certain, with reports suggesting that Penske was targeting impressive IndyCar rookie Robert Wickens.

The Frenchman is, however, the 2016 series champion.

Penske’s other IndyCar driver, 2017 champion Josef Newgarden, is reportedly believed to have already been contracted for next year.

Power finished second in this morning’s race at Pocono, Newgarden fifth, and Pagenaud eighth. comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!