Field set for Kumho Series decider at The Bend

Daniel Herrero

Monday 20th August, 2018 - 9:02am


The V8 Touring Car Series field last time out at Queensland Raceway

A 19-car field has been revealed for the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series’ 2018 finale at The Bend Motorsport Park.

The title is set to be fought over by MW Motorsport team-mates Tyler Everingham and Zak Best, who respectively occupy first and second in the standings with nine points separating them.

The FG Falcon pilots have won a round each, 17-year-old Everingham in Round 3 at Winton and 16-year-old Best last time out at Queensland Raceway when he edged his team-mate on a countback.

Jon McCorkindale, also in an FG Falcon, is an outside chance to win the series but is 87 points back from Best with a total of 143 available this weekend.

Title holder Jack Smith, who has dovetailed a part-time V8 Touring Cars campaign alongside Super2 this year, returns to the field at The Bend in the Brad Jones Racing VEII Commodore.

Image Racing will run an unchanged line-up of Harley Haber and Maxim Erickson in its FG Falcons.

In the Kumho Cup class, Jim Pollicina (VE Commodore) is favoured to take the title given he holds a 124-point lead over Garry Hills (VEII Commodore).

There will be two series debutants in the form of Blake Fardell (VX Commodore) and Mark Tracey (BA Falcon).

V8 Touring Cars’ final round begins with two practice sessions this Friday at the OTR SuperSprint, while there will be three races across the weekend.

Entry list: Round 5, The Bend Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Class
2 Page Bros, Jayco Steven Page Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
7 Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina Commodore VE Kumho Cup
9 Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
10 Mr HDT Race Cars & Engines Blake Fardell Commodore VX Heritage
11 Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson Ford Falcon FG Championship
19 Twin City Roller Doors Mark Tracey Ford Falcon BA Kumho Cup
21 Brad Jones Racing/SCT Logistics Jack Smith Commodore VE II Championship
23 HF Racing Francois Habib Commodore VZ Kumho Cup
27 MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham Ford Falcon FG Championship
33 Warrin Mining Adam Wallis Commodore VE Kumho Cup
39 Vectra Corp Chris Smerdon Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
41 Dial Before You Dig Racing Mark Primmer Ford Falcon BF Kumho Cup
51 Maxim Motorsport/Image Racing Maxim Erickson Ford Falcon FG Championship
69 Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon FG Championship
75 B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
76 Mad Hueys Garry Hills Commodore VE II Kumho Cup
78 MW Motorsport Zak Best Ford Falcon FG Championship
99 Harley Haber Motorsport/Image Racing Harley Haber Ford Falcon FG Kumho Cup
111 Custom Garage Andy Cantrell Ford Falcon EL Heritage comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!