FFord to boast 24-car field for The Bend

Daniel Herrero

Thursday 16th August, 2018 - 4:43pm


There are set to be 24 Formula Fords on the Supercars support card at The Bend

Australian Formula Ford is set for a 24-car field when it supports Supercars’ first event at The Bend Motorsport Park.

Hunter McElrea takes a 29-point series lead to The Bend, the first time that national-level Formula Ford has been contested in South Australia since 2014.

His nearest rival is Sonic Motor Racing team-mate Hamish Ribarits, while Zac Soutar consolidated third position on the table by winning the most recent round at Sandown.

Over a dozen entrants for Round 5 of the season have already driven The Bend in a Formula Ford during the CAMS SA State Championship meeting in early-June, including McElrea and the teen who currently holds the circuit’s Formula Ford lap record after that weekend, Lachlan Mineeff.

“It is a great facility and it is a great opportunity for both me and my sponsors supporting the Supercars,” said Mineeff, who is currently seventh in the series.

“It is a highly technical circuit and is a great track for Formula Ford. There is a long straight and multiple high speed corners and also a few low speed corners which will create close racing. I think it will be one of if not the best circuit on the calendar.”

The 24 Duratec-powered cars will take to the track at the OTR SuperSprint from August 24-26.

Entry list: Round 5, The Bend Motorsport Park

Num Driver Team/Sponsor
2 Hunter McElrea Sonic Motor Racing Services
3 Courtney Prince Sonic Motor Racing Services
4 Angelo Mouzouris Sonic Motor Racing Services
5 Hamish Ribarits Sonic Motor Racing Services
6 Paul Zsidy Borland Racing Developments
10 Zac Soutar
12 Bart Horsten Fastlane Racing
14 Lachlan Mineeff CHE Racing Team
16 Thomas Smith G Force Mygale
20 Gavin Dumas G Force Mygale
27 Paul Di Biase
28 John Blanchard
29 Nathan Herne BF Racing
47 Thomas Sargent CHE Racing Team
55 Samuel Dicker Fastlane Racing/Tandersport
60 Cody Donald
66 Benjamin D’Alia Borland Racing Developments
73 Cameron Shields BF Racing
76 Andy Simpson ​Ciel Team Racing
88 Harrison Goodman BF Racing
91 Christopher Slusarski
97 Liam McLellan Synergy Motorsport
98 Conor Nicholson
99 Matt Roesler

Schedule ACST: Australian Formula Ford

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday August 24
0800 Free Practice 1 20min
1145 Free Practice 2 20min
1350 Qualifying 20min
Saturday August 25
1000 Race 1 7 laps
Sunday August 26
0920 Race 2 7 laps
1630 Race 3 7 laps

Standings (Top 10)

Pos Driver Pts
1 Hunter McElrea 208
2 Hamish Ribarits 179
3 Zac Soutar 131
4 Angelo Mouzouris 112
5 Nathan Herne 111
6 Liam McLellan 105
7 Lachlan Mineeff 96
8 Bart Horsten 93
9 Cameron Shields 84
10 Courtney Prince 57 comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!