Marquez fastest in Brno in-season test

Marc Marquez pic: MotoGP Twitter

Marc Marquez has topped the final official MotoGP in-season test of 2018 with a final-hour fastest lap at the Automotodrom Brno.

Less than 0.2s covered the top three as Tech3 Yamaha’s Johann Zarco split the Repsol Hondas of Marquez and Dani Pedrosa.

Marquez initially took over first position during the fifth hour of eight, was usurped by Pedrosa, then went quicker again with a 1:55.209s on his second-last run.

The championship leader worked with a new Michelin tyre which was available at the test.

Zarco slotted into second with his 69th lap of 71, while the factory Ducatis which initially set the pace ended up fourth and fifth through the weekend’s grand prix winner Andrea Dovizioso and runner-up Jorge Lorenzo respectively.

Maverick Viñales remained on the sidelines due to shoulder pain from a Lap 1 crash on Sunday as Valentino Rossi finished the day seventh on the other Movistar Yamaha.

Red Bull KTM was also down to one due to injuries for Pol Espargaro and test rider Mika Kallio, while Bradley Smith ended up 13th.

Jack Miller logged only 13 laps due to a crash but was uninjured, as his Pramac Ducati team-mate Danilo Petrucci finished eighth-fastest.

Suzuki Ecstar rider Andrea Iannone’s day was also cut short due to a crash.

MotoGP continues this weekend (August 10-12) with Round 11 in Austria.

In-season testing: Brno

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:55.209
2 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:55.342 0.133/0.133
3 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:55.399 0.190/0.057
4 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 1:55.517 0.308/0.118
5 99 Jorge LORENZO ESP Ducati Team Ducati 1:55.609 0.400/0.092
6 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:55.771 0.562/0.162
7 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:55.918 0.709/0.147
8 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:55.939 0.730/0.021
9 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:55.986 0.777/0.047
10 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:56.032 0.823/0.046
11 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:56.111 0.902/0.079
12 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:56.366 1.157/0.255
13 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:56.566 1.357/0.200
14 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:56.622 1.413/0.056
15 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:56.697 1.488/0.075
16 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:56.855 1.646/0.158
17 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:56.885 1.676/0.030
18 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:57.034 1.825/0.149
19 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:57.843 2.634/0.809
20 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN HRC Honda Team Honda 1:59.334 4.125/1.491

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]