Wall pips O’Keeffe in Carrera Cup Aus qualifying

Daniel Herrero

Friday 3rd August, 2018 - 3:55pm


David Wall

David Wall has nabbed pole from Dylan O’Keeffe for Round 5 of Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Qualifying developed into a three-way battle between Wall Racing’s Pro drivers, Wall himself and James Moffat, and Ashley Seward Motorsport’s Dylan O’Keeffe.

It was the latter who held top spot ahead of the final runs before Wall laid down a 1:29.0114s to go 0.0572s quicker.

With the chequered flag out, Moffat looked on to record a first Carrera Cup pole when he went fastest to the first sector.

However, he made an untidy exit from Turn 6 after dropping a rear wheel off the edge of the road and while the lap was a personal best it was not enough to make the front row.

O’Keeffe therefore held on to second position from Moffat, the third driver to break the previous practice record, and Dale Wood (Sonic Motor Racing).

Cameron Hill (Cameron Hill Racing) and series leader Jaxon Evans (McElrea Racing) share Row 3, ahead of Jordan Love (Sonic Motor Racing), Nick McBride (Porsche Centre Melbourne), Michael Almond (Sonic Motor Racing), and Peter Major (Sonic Motor Racing).

In the TAG Heuer Pro-Am class, Roger Lago usurped Adrian Flack late in the piece as they qualified 13th and 14th outright.

The results mean that Wall starts on the outside of the front row for the joint Carrera Cup Asia/Carrera Cup Australia Pro race alongside the Asian series’ pole-sitter, and Lago on pole for the Pro-Am race.

Race 1 (16 laps) for the Australian series starts tomorrow at 1145 local time/AEST.

Results: Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Fastest lap Split
1 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall P 1:29.0114R
2 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe P 1:29.0686r 0:00.0572
3 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat P 1:29.1543r 0:00.1429
4 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood P 1:29.3644 0:00.3530
5 111 BAXX Australia Cameron Hill P 1:29.4029 0:00.3915
6 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans P 1:29.4690 0:00.4576
7 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love P 1:29.5679 0:00.5565
8 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride P 1:29.6665 0:00.6551
9 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond P 1:29.7414 0:00.7300
10 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major P 1:30.1282 0:01.1168
11 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood P 1:30.3263 0:01.3149
12 888 Porsche Centre Brighton/Porsche Glen Wood P 1:30.3335 0:01.3221
13 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago A 1:30.3336 0:01.3222
14 20 Agas National Adrian Flack A 1:30.4172 0:01.4058
15 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt P 1:30.7111 0:01.6997
16 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson A 1:30.9475 0:01.9361
17 5 Arris/Strongbuild Shane Smollen A 1:30.9837 0:01.9723
18 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove A 1:30.9985 0:01.9871
19 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles A 1:31.1966 0:02.1852
20 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook A 1:31.8887 0:02.8773
21 35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran Padayachee A 1:32.5123 0:03.5009
22 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini A 1:34.0033 0:04.9919
23 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams A 1:34.8554 0:05.8440 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!