Carrera Cup set to feature 50 cars in Sydney

The Carrera Cup Pro class race at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2016

A total of 50 Porsche Carrera Cup cars from across the Australian and Asian series will compete in this weekend’s Sydney SuperNight event.

The meeting will be the third in which one series has visited the other, after the Porsche Carrera Cup Asia field first appeared at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2016 and Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia raced at Sepang in 2017.

Carrera Cup Asia has named a 27-car entry list which includes 2017 series champion Chris van der Drift of New Zealand, his countryman Will Bamber, and Sydneysider Paul Tresidder.

Van der Drift is currently on track to defend his title as he holds a 19-point lead over German Philip Hamprecht after the first five rounds, while Bamber is third in the standings.

In the Australian ranks, 2015 TAG Heuer Pro-Am champion Shane Smollen has stepped into the #5 Wall Racing entry in the absence of Greg Taylor due to business commitments.

Glen Wood has been named to continue in the #888 Ashley Seward Motorsport car primarily campaigned by Alex Davison.

Jaxon Evans has a 60-point advantage on Dylan O’Keeffe at the top of the series, with an opportunity to extend that margin in Carrera Cup Australia’s two 16-lap races.

Carrera Cup Asia will also have its own pair of 16-lappers before joint Pro and Pro-Am races, the latter of which will see the Australian field disable ABS to match the Asian contingent.

Drivers competing in a joint race will receive 10 points towards their series tally.

Matt Campbell and Stephen Grove took Pro and Pro-Am honours respectively in the joint races of 2016, before Chris van der Drift and Yuey Tan did so at Sepang.

Each Carrera Cup series will have two practice sessions and qualifying this Friday, with the four races spanning late morning to an early evening timeslot on Saturday prior to the Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300 race.

Entry list: Sydney Motorsport Park Updated

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Nat Class
Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia
1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David WALL AUS Pro
4 Grove Group Stephen GROVE AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
5 Arris/Strongbuild Shane SMOLLEN AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage 1 Tim MILES NZL TAG Heuer Pro-Am
7 Morris Finance Jaxon EVANS NZL Pro
8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBRIDE AUS Pro
9 Hallmarc Marc CINI AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
12 Garwood Motorsport Adam GARWOOD AUS Pro
14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter MAJOR AUS Pro
15 LORY Construction Josh HUNT AUS Pro
18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James MOFFAT AUS Pro
19 Hallmark Homes Anthony GILBERTSON AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
20 Agas National Adrian FLACK AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean COOK AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
23 JBS Australia Roger LAGO AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
35 Hyundai Forklifts Australia Indiran PADAYACHEE AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael ALMOND AUS Pro
88 APB Group Dylan O’KEEFFE AUS Pro
100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale WOOD AUS Pro
111 BAXX Australia Cameron HILL AUS Pro
131 Harcourts Williams Graham WILLIAMS AUS TAG Heuer Pro-Am
777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan LOVE AUS Pro
888 Porsche Centre Brighton/Porsche Centre Doncaster Glen WOOD AUS Pro
Porsche Carrera Cup Asia
101 Team Formax Chris VAN DER DRIFT NZL Outright
102 Prince Racing Kenneth LAU HKG Pro-Am
108 Racing Spirit Thailand Sontaya KUNPLOME THA Pro-Am
109 Porsche Beijing Central & Goldenport # LI Chao CHN Pro-Am
110 Earl Bamber Motorsport Graeme DOWSETT SIN Pro-Am
Earl Bamber Motorsport Jeffrey CHIANG TPE Pro-Am
112 Earl Bamber Motorsport Will BAMBER NZL Outright
115 est cola PTT Tanart SATHIENTHIRAKUL THA Outright
116 Modena Motorsports Wayne SHEN HKG Pro-Am
117 Arrows Racing FUNG Yui Sum HKG Pro-Am
121 OpenRoad Racing Francis TJIA HKG Pro-Am
122 LKM Racing SIU Yuk Lung HKG Pro-Am
128 Modena Motorsports John SHEN HKG Pro-Am
133 Modena Motorsports Antares AU HKG Pro-Am
155 Zheng Tong Auto # BAO Jinlong CHN Pro-Am
159 Porsche China Junior Team Daniel LU Wenlong CHN Outright
162 Presido Jakarta Ban Racing Ahmad F. ALAM INA Outright
166 AAS MOTORSPORT by Absolute Racing Maxime JOUSSE FRA Outright
168 Kamlung Racing # MAK Hing Tak HKG Pro-Am
169 OpenRoad Racing Christian CHIA CAN Pro-Am
177 Team Jebsen # CUI Yue CHN Outright
178 True Visions Motorsports Thailand Suttiluck BUNCHAROEN THA Pro-Am
186 Team Porsche Holding # Martin RAGGINGER AUT Outright
188 Porsche Shanghai Waigaoqiao & Pudong # YUAN Bo CHN Outright
198 KiddyWorld Racing Eric KWONG HKG Pro-Am
199 Team StarChase # Philip HAMPRECHT GER Outright

# Porsche Dealer Trophy for dealer teams

Schedule: Carrera Cup, Sydney Motorsport Park

Time Series Session Length/Distance
Friday 3 August
1020 Asia Practice 1 30min
1100 Australia Practice 1 30min
1220 Asia Practice 2 30min
1300 Australia Practice 2 30min
1425 Asia Qualifying 30min
1505 Australia Qualifying 30min
Saturday 4 August
1105 Asia Race 1 16 laps
1145 Australia Race 1 16 laps
1405 Asia Race 2 16 laps
1445 Australia Race 2 16 laps
1715 Joint Pro Race 16 laps
1755 Joint Pro-Am Race 16 laps

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]