Miedeckes rejoin Aus GT field with GT3 Aston

The Miedeckes won at Sydney Motorsport Park in 2016

Past Sydney Motorsport Park Australian GT race winners George and Andrew Miedecke will rejoin the field for this weekend’s fifth round of the season.

The Miedeckes and Tony Quinn will each pilot an Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 in the model’s first appearance in a CAMS Australian GT Championship round this year, joining Jeremy Gray’s GT4 example which debuted in Round 1.

The father and son combination won the Australian GT race at the Western Sydney circuit two years ago, when it was a 101-lap affair which counted towards that season’s Australian Endurance Championship.

As previously reported, the Nissan GT-R also makes its return in the hands of Brett Hobson, while Ricky Capo teams up with Steven Richards in the BMW Team SRM M6 GT3 having also done so earlier in the season at Sandown.

The 24-car field consists of 15 Championship class cars, seven Trophy entries for Round 4 of that series, and two GT4s, representing a total of 10 makes.

Among the Trophy ranks is 16-year-old Melbourne student Ryan How for his national level debut.

Tony Bates (Audi R8 LMS GT3) holds a small lead over Fraser Ross (McLaren 650S GT3) at the top of the Australian GT Championship standings, while Nick Kelly (Audi R8 Ultra GT3) leads Trophy and Gray heads GT4.

Australian GT will be on track for both days of the Red Rooster Sydney SuperNight 300, with practice, two qualifying sessions, and the first of three 40-minute races this Friday.

Entry list: Round 5, Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver(s) Car Class
1 Valvoline Geoff Emery Audi R8 LMS GT3 Championship
6 Wall Racing Adrian Deitz
Cameron McConville
Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
7 Local Legends Beef Jerky Tony Quinn Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 Championship
12 John Nikolovski John Nikolovski
Jamie Arratoon
Ferrari 458 Challenge Trophy
19 Hogs Breath Café / Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
23 Kentucky Fried Chicken Matthew Stoupas Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Trophy
24 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Tony Bates Audi R8 LMS GT3 Championship
25 BTE Bulk Transport Equipment / Ren Racing Ryan How Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Trophy
29 Haemokinesis / Trofeo Estate / FreeM Jim Manolios Lamborghini Huracan GT3 Championship
49 M Motorpsort Justin McMillan
Dean Koutsoumidis
Lamborghini R-EX GT3 Championship
50 Vantage Freight / M Motorsport David Crampton
Trent Harrison
59 Total Oil / Opti-Coat / Logitech Fraser Ross McLaren 650S GT3 Championship
63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
67 JMG / Bilstein Jeremy Gray Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT4 GT4
95 Miedecke Motorsport / Magswitch Andrew Miedecke
George Miedecke
Aston Martin Vantage V12 GT3 Championship
96 Hobson Motorsport / Hi-Tech Oils Brett Hobson Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 Championship
99 Industrie Nick Kelly Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Trophy
100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards
Ricky Capo
BMW M6 GT3 Championship
147 Superfluid Dave Stevens Ferrari 458 GT3 Trophy
188 E.A.T. Furniture Rio Nugara Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Trophy
222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
777 The Bend Motor Sport Park Yasser Shahin Mercedes-AMG GT3 Championship
911 Walkinshaw GT3 Liam Talbot Porsche 911 GT3 R Championship
991 Perfect Auto Body Vince Muriti Audi R8 Ultra GT3 Trophy

Schedule: Round 5

Time Session Length/Distance
Friday August 3
1140 Practice 30mins
1340 Qualifying 1 15mins
1400 Qualifying 2 15mins
1550 Race 1 40mins
Saturday August 4
1320 Race 2 40mins
1620 Race 3 40mins

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]