Audi takes pole for 24 Hours of Spa

Mat Coch

Saturday 28th July, 2018 - 1:01pm


Dries Vanthoor

Audi Team WRT will start the 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps from pole after setting the best time in the SuperPole.

The top 20 qualifiers from Thursday progressed through to the shoot-out style session, which afforded teams two flying laps with one of their nominated drivers.

Dries Vanthoor set a 2:18.578s effort in the Audi R8 LMS to take pole from Maxime Martin in an Aston Martin Vantage V12, though more than six tenths off the pole-setting pace.

The sister Audi Team WRT entry of Rene Rast, Robin Frijns, and Nico Muller was third fastest in a session that saw the top eight covered by less than a second.

The KUS Team75 Bernhard Porsche 911 GT3 R entry of Earl Bamber, Timo Bernhard, and Laurens Vanthoor will line up 12th, the second Porsche on the grid behind the Manthey Racing entry of Frederic Makowiecki, Romain Dumas, and Dirk Werner which will start ninth.

A crash for Raffaele Marciello during the night practice session prior to SuperPole prevented the Mercedes-AMG Steam Strakka ASP entry from taking part.

Too badly damaged to continue, the squad will line up 20th in the 62-car field if they can get the car repaired in time for the race.

The 24 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps is scheduled to begin in the early hours of Sunday morning, from 0030 AEST, with carrying the race in full via a livestream. comment policy reserves the right to remove comments that are off-topic, abusive and ban users who do not follow the comment policy. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected] has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!