Tanak quickest as WRC returns from break

Ott Tanak

Toyota’s Ott Tanak has set the fastest time in the first stage back from the World Rally Championship’s mid-season break at Rally Finland.

The Estonian topped the 2.31km Harju super special stage by 0.7s in the #8 Yaris from championship leader Thierry Neuville of Hyundai.

Sebastien Ogier (M-Sport Ford), second in the standings, and Andrea Mikkelsen (Hyundai) were each another 0.1s slower in third and fourth respectively.

The second and third Toyotas of Esapekka Lappi and Jari-Matti Latvala, also highly favoured for the rally, were fifth and eighth respectively.

They were split by two of the Citroens in Mads Ostberg and Craig Breen, who set identical times.

Hayden Paddon (Hyundai) matched the time of Elfyn Evans (M-Sport Ford) to sit equal-ninth.

Friday action begins this afternoon (AEST) and features 10 stages totalling 126.37km, with two gravel loops near Jyväskylä and another run through Harju.

Rally Finland: After Special Stage 1 (Top 10)

Pos Num Driver Nat Team Car   Time/Gap
1 8 Ott Tanak EST Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC 1:49.2
2 5 Thierry Neuville BEL Hyundai i20 WRC +0.7
3 1 Sebastien Ogier FRA M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +0.8
4 4 Andreas Mikkelsen NOR Hyundai i20 WRC +0.9
5 9 Esapekka Lappi FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +1.7
6 10 Mads Ostberg NOR Citroen C3 WRC +1.8
7 11 Craig Breen IRL Citroen C3 WRC +1.8
8 7 Jari-Matti Latvala FIN Toyota Gazoo Yaris WRC +2.3
9 2 Elfyn Evans GBR M-Sport Ford Fiesta WRC +2.6
10 6 Hayden Paddon NZL Hyundai i20 WRC +2.6

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]