Alexander fastest in SuperUtes qualifying

Tom Alexander

Tom Alexander has become the first repeat pole-sitter in the ECB SuperUtes Series with the fastest lap in Armor All Qualifying at Queensland Raceway.

Alexander was second to Ryal Harris once they field laid down their initial flyers after an early red flag, but soon moved to the top.

Both improved thereafter but it was the New Zealander in the Ross Stone Racing Holden Colorado who was fastest with a 1:31.0463s.

Harris, who ran off early in the session, will take up the other front row starting berth having finished 0.4026s slower in his Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50.

The Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hiluxes of Craig Woods and Ben Walsh qualified on Row 2, with series leader Woods edging Walsh by just 0.0648s.

Debutant Mick Sieders put the first of the Sieders Racing Team Mitsubishi Tritons fifth on the grid, ahead of Christopher Formosa (Ranger Racing Ford Ranger) and Matt MacKelden (SRT Hilux).

Aaron Cameron qualified eighth in the BT-50 which rolled in Practice 1 a day earlier.

He was back on the circuit for Practice 2 earlier today but Peters Motorsport believes that the Mazda still needs further repairs before this afternoon’s opening race.

Tomas Gasperak (Team 18 Colorado) and Steve Wilson (Steve Wilson Racing Isuzu D-Max) rounded out the top 10.

Cameron Crick (SRT Triton) did not set a time after he sailed off further than Harris at Turn 3 and got buried in the gravel trap on his first attempt at a flyer.

The resulting red flag meant that nearly nine minutes were lost at the start of the 20-minute session.

Race 1 (10 laps) is scheduled to start at 1440 local time/AEST.

Results: Armor All Qualifying

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 1:31.0463  
2 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 1:31.4489 0:00.4026
3 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 1:31.6478 0:00.6015
4 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 1:31.7126 0:00.6663
5 45 Team Mitsubishi Triton Michael Sieders Mitsubishi Triton 1:31.7916 0:00.7453
6 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 1:32.1164 0:01.0701
7 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 1:32.2428 0:01.1965
8 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 1:32.6551 0:01.6088
9 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 1:33.4192 0:02.3729
10 3 Wilson Auto Steve Wilson Isuzu D-MAX 1:34.7598 0:03.7135
11 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Cameron Crick Mitsubishi Triton    

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]