WORLD WRAP: Paffett, Rast share DTM wins

Rene Rast wins in Zandvoort pic: DTM Facebook


Gary Paffett and Rene Rast shared the spoils in DTM at Zandvoort.

Paffett held onto pole to lead the early laps of the opening race and reclaimed the advantage in the closing stages to take the win.

Rast had headed the race courtesy of leaving his stop until the last possible moment, but ultimately tumbled down the order when he eventually stopped.

With Paul Di Resta second, Lucas Auer third, and Pascal Wehrlein fourth it was a race dominated by Mercedes-AMG.

In Race 2, Rast dived in for his stop at the end of the opening lap before feeding back out into what would become the race lead once those ahead had served their stops.

A mid-race restart when Bruno Spengler spun saw Rast hold onto the lead to take his first win of the 2018 season.

Paffett trailed the Audi driver home in second, extending his championship lead, with Di Resta third.

Brands Hatch hosts the next DTM round on August 11-12.

Ralf Aron (#7) leads the field away in Race 1 at Zandvoort pic: FIA Formula 3 European Championship Facebook

European Formula 3

Ralf Aron won the opening race of the weekend at Zandvoort to claim his second victory of the season.

Aron won the drag race to the opening corner, heading pole-sitter Guanyu Zhou, with Mick Schumacher third and Marcus Armstrong fourth.

The Theodore Racing driver then won again in Race 2, this time ahead of points-leader Armstrong with Zhou falling to third.

Nikita Troitckii then claimed his maiden European F3 win in the final race, Zhou once again on the podium ahead of Jehan Daruvala.

Armstrong finished that race in 16th after the New Zealander started 23rd.

The series now moves to Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium on July 27-28.

The Pfaff Motorsports Porsche of Wolf Henzler and Scott Hargrove pic: PWC Twitter

Pirelli World Challenge

Ferrari and Porsche shared victories in the Pirelli World Challenge GT races at Portland International Raceway, while Australian Matt Brabham finished a best of seventh.

Toni Vilander and Miguel Molina managed to extend their championship lead by winning Race 1 on Saturday in their R. Ferri Motorsport Ferrari 488 GT3.

The pair emerged from the pit stop sequence out front, with Molina leading the remainder of the 60-minute race.

After a slow pit stop, Brabham came home seventh on debut in the CRP Racing Mercedes-AMG GT3 which he shared with Daniel Morad, before the latter crashed out in Race 2.

Pfaff Motorsports took the Race 2 victory, with Wolf Henzler holding off the Audi of Parker Chase to score the win alongside co-driver Scott Hargrove.

The Spencer Pumpelly/Michael Christensen driven Alegra Motorsports Porsche came home second in Race 1 ahead of Chase and Ryan Dalziel TruSpeed AutoSport Audi.

K-PAX Racing took out third in Race 2 with the Rodrigo Baptista/Maxime Soulet Bentley Continental GT3.

Pirelli World Challenge heads to Utah Motorsports Campus for its next round from August 10-12.

UPDATE: The Race 2 winning Henzler/Hargrove Porsche has since lost its victory following a post-race penalty for corner cutting, handing the Audi of Chase and Dalziel the win.

Santiago Urrutia pic: Indy Lights website

Indy Lights

The opening Indy Lights race of the weekend in Toronto went to Patricio O’Ward , who sealed his fifth win of the season.

The Andretti Autosport driver headed Santiago Urrutia and Ryan Norman while championship leader Colton Herta crash out.

Herta fractured his thumb after crashing in qualifying, only to lose his grip on the wheel after clattering over a kerb during the race.

Urrutia then won the second race, series leader O’Ward dropping to second and Aaron Telitz in third.

There was another qualifying crash for Herta, who started from pit lane despite setting the third best time, parking the car a handful of laps into the race

Indy Lights next moves on to the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on July 27-29.

Brad Binder

Moto2, Moto3

Brad Binder has won in Moto2 for the first time as he beat Joan Mir and Luca Marini home by less than a second at the Sachsenring.

It was those three who gapped the field early in the 27-lap race and they were never separated by much more than one second thereafter.

Mir passed Marini on Lap 5 before KTM Ajo rider Binder got both on Lap 10.

Despite the tight margins, the South African was fairly comfortable at the front as Mir and Marini battled each other.

Binder’s team-mate Miguel Oliveira was 12th at the end of Lap 1 after nearly going down at Turn 13 but salvaged fourth.

It meant that he closed the gap to Francesco Bagnaia at the top of the championship to seven points.

Bagnaia finished 12th having had to run through the gravel to avoid Mattia Pasini’s crash out of second position on Lap 2.

Remy Gardner was 11th after starting 20th.

In Moto3, first and second in the championship finished first and second in the race as Jorge Martin beat Marco Bezzecchi to the finish line by 2.5s.

Round 10 will be held at the Automotodrom Brno in the Czech Republic on August 3-5.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia pic: Thailand Super Series Facebook

Carrera Cup Asia

Chris van der Drift and Philip Hamprecht took one Porsche Carrera Cup Asia win apiece at the Bangsaen street circuit in Thailand.

Van der Drift started on pole for the opening race, heading Martin Ragginger and Maxime Jousse in a race interrupted twice by the Safety Car.

Hamprecht then gained the upper hand in the weekend’s second race over van der Drift with Will Bamber rounding out the podium.

Porsche Carrera Cup Asia is next in action at Sydney Motorsport Park where it joins Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia on August 3-4.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]