New champion Vergne wins Formula E finale

Jean-Eric Vergne

Jean-Eric Vergne has capped off his title-winning Formula E campaign with victory in the season finale in New York City.

Vergne, who sealed the championship a day earlier, beat Lucas di Grassi by 0.508s at the line following a late charge from the latter.

A double podium place finish for Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler in the form of di Grassi and Daniel Abt meant the German squad overhauled Techeetah to claim the teams’ championship.

Pole-sitter Sebastien Buemi, who duelled with Abt in the closing stages, came home fourth as Felix Rosenqvist rounded out the top five.

Techeetah driver Andre Lotterer ran second early on and, along with stable-mate Vergne, looked set to bring home the teams’ championship for the Chinese outfit.

Lotterer, however, was handed a 10 second stop and hold penalty for a jumpstart, relegating him to 15th.

The German managed to fight his way back up to ninth by the chequered flag but Techeetah fell two points short of a title double.

Sam Bird, who was a title contender heading into Saturday’s New York opener, once again struggled, crossing the line 10th and dropping from second to third in the standings behind di Grassi.

Jose Maria Lopez stopped on track with suspension damage early in proceedings to bring out the only Full Course Yellow of the 43-lap affair.

Lap 7 saw a three-car incident involving Antonio Felix da Costa, Luca Filippi and Jerome d’Ambrosio, with da Costa receiving a penalty for contact with Filippi which triggered the accident.

New Zealander Mitch Evans brought his Jaguar home sixth ahead of team-mate Nelson Piquet, while Nick Heidfeld, Lotterer and Bird completed the top 10.

The 2018/19 FIA Formula E championship gets underway on December 15 in the Saudi Arabian city of Riyadh.

Race results: Race 12, New York City

Pos Num Driver Team Race time/Split
1 25 Jean-Éric Vergne Techeetah 1:01:38.089 (43 laps)
2 1 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler +0.508
3 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT Schaeffler +1.287
4 9 Sébastien Buemi Renault e.dams +1.780
5 19 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing +12.146
6 20 Mitch Evans Panasonic Jaguar Racing +20.050
7 3 Nelson Piquet Jr. Panasonic Jaguar Racing +20.592
8 23 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing +24.275
9 18 André Lotterer Techeetah +28.821
10 2 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing +32.810
11 8 Nico Prost Renault e.dams +34.100
12 27 Stéphane Sarrazin MS&AD Andretti Formula E +34.594
13 16 Ma Qing Hua NIO Formula E Team +1 Lap
14 36 Alex Lynn DS Virgin Racing +1 Lap
15 28 António Félix da Costa MS&AD Andretti Formula E +3 Laps
DNF 5 Maro Engel Venturi Formula E Team
DNF 68 Luca Filippi NIO Formula E Team
DNF 7 Jérôme d’Ambrosio Dragon Racing
DNF 6 José María López Dragon Racing
DNF 4 Tom Dillman Venturi Formula E Team

Championship points

Pos Driver Pts
1 Jean-Éric Vergne 198
2 Lucas di Grassi 144
3 Sam Bird 143
4 Sébastien Buemi 125
5 Daniel Abt 120
6 Felix Rosenqvist 96
7 Mitch Evans 68
8 André Lotterer 64
9 Nelson Piquet Jr. 51
10 Oliver Turvey 46
11 Nick Heidfeld 42
12 Maro Engel 31
13 Edoardo Mortara 29
14 Jérôme d’Ambrosio 27
15 António Félix da Costa 20
16 Alex Lynn 17
17 José María López 14
18 Tom Dillman 12
19 Nico Prost 8
20 Tom Blomqvist 4
21 Luca Filippi 1
22 Stéphane Sarrazin 0
23 Ma Qing Hua 0
24 Kamui Kobayashi 0
25 Neel Jani 0

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]