Hamilton edges Vettel in Silverstone practice

Lewis Hamilton

Lewis Hamilton has finished fastest in Friday practice for the British Formula 1 Grand Prix despite Sebastian Vettel going faster in the day’s second session at Silverstone.

Hamilton set a 1:27.487s lap in Practice 1, with Vettel capable of 1:27.552s in Practice 2, an improvement of nearly half a second for the Ferrari driver

There was little between the two championship protagonists, who are split by a single world championship point heading into the weekend.

Valtteri Bottas was a third of a second off the pace across both sessions to trail his team-mate throughout the day.

Daniel Ricciardo was the best of the non-Mercedes or Ferrari runners, the Australian ending opening practice in fourth before dropping behind Kimi Raikkonen to fifth later in the day.

Following a gearbox problem in the first session, Max Verstappen lost the back end of his Red Bull at Luffield, tagging the barrier with the right rear early in Practice 2.

It mirrored an incident for Sergey Sirotkin in opening practice, though in that instance the Williams driver was able to keep the car out of the wall.

Verstappen’s error forced a red flag with little more than a quarter of an hour on the clock and without a lap time to his name.

Pierre Gasly was also forced from the session, the Toro Rosso pulling off the circuit after being told to stop the car with just over half an hour left in the session.

Brendan Hartley found himself towards the bottom of the timing sheets in both sessions, while Sauber’s Charles Leclerc continued to impress by going 10th fastest in Practice 2.

Down the order in the morning, Fernando Alonso improved as the day wore on, engaging in a brief on track battle with Leclerc in the final stages of the day’s proceedings.

The McLaren driver ended up sixth in Practice 2, while Stoffel Vandoorne languished in 17th in both sessions.

A crash for Romain Grosjean in opening practice saw the Haas driver sit out Practice 2.

The Frenchman lost control going through Abbey at the start of the lap, making heavy contact with the barrier to necessitate a new chassis.

Regulations state that any driver taking a new chassis can take no further part in that day’s action.

The incident was caused as Grosjean attempted to take the corner with DRS open, apologising to his team as he was too slow pressing the button to close the rear wing slot.

F1 practice continues on Saturday with another 60-minute session starting at 1900 AEST, ahead of qualifying at 2300 AEST.

Result: British Formula 1 Grand Prix, Practice 1

Pos Driver Team Laps Time Gap
1 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 24 1:27.487
2 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 27 1:27.854 0.367s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 22 1:27.998 0.511s
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 30 1:28.144 0.657s
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 24 1:28.218 0.731s
6 Max Verstappen Red Bull Renault 24 1:28.325 0.838s
7 Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari 12 1:29.352 1.865s
8 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 23 1:29.812 2.325s
9 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 24 1:29.815 2.328s
10 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 25 1:29.878 2.391s
11 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 25 1:29.942 2.455s
12 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso Honda 31 1:30.004 2.517s
13 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 27 1:30.027 2.540s
14 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 20 1:30.065 2.578s
15 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 19 1:30.322 2.835s
16 Carlos Sainz Renault 22 1:30.358 2.871s
17 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 25 1:30.416 2.929s
18 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 18 1:30.701 3.214s
19 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso Honda 31 1:30.749 3.262s
20 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 22 1:31.017 3.530s

Result: British Formula 1 Grand Prix, Practice 2

Pos Driver Team Laps Time Gap
1 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 36 1:27.552
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 32 1:27.739 0.187s
3 Valtteri Bottas Mercedes 30 1:27.909 0.357s
4 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 34 1:28.045 0.493s
5 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull Renault 31 1:28.408 0.856s
6 Fernando Alonso McLaren Renault 31 1:29.306 1.754s
7 Nico Hulkenberg Renault 35 1:29.354 1.802s
8 Esteban Ocon Force India Mercedes 33 1:29.467 1.915s
9 Sergio Perez Force India Mercedes 32 1:29.522 1.970s
10 Charles Leclerc Sauber Ferrari 30 1:29.557 2.005s
11 Carlos Sainz Renault 36 1:29.563 2.011s
12 Kevin Magnussen Haas Ferrari 33 1:29.617 2.065s
13 Pierre Gasly Toro Rosso Honda 16 1:29.831 2.279s
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber Ferrari 32 1:30.046 2.494s
15 Lance Stroll Williams Mercedes 34 1:30.069 2.517s
16 Sergey Sirotkin Williams Mercedes 36 1:30.103 2.551s
17 Stoffel Vandoorne McLaren Renault 31 1:30.121 2.569s
18 Brendon Hartley Toro Rosso Honda 36 1:30.404 2.852s
19 Max Verstappen Red Bull Renault 2
Romain Grosjean Haas Ferrari

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]