McLaughlin takes pole for Townsville opener

Scott McLaughlin

Scott McLaughlin has taken an eighth Armor All Pole Position for the season in a qualifying session largely decided during a first run conducted in overcast conditions.

The New Zealander and Jamie Whincup were split by only 0.0553s at the head of the field, while the latter’s Triple Eight Racing Engineering team-mates Shane van Gisbergen and Craig Lowndes ended up third and fifth respectively.

McLaughlin was one of a number of drivers to start the session with an out-and-in lap, but when he did attempt a flyer he laid down a 1:12.1239s in the #17 Shell V-Power FGX Falcon.

Whincup crossed the control line moments later but fell just short in the #1 Red Bull HRT ZB Commodore.

Van Gisbergen similarly slotted into third in the #97 ZB Commodore, making for a Triple Eight two-three-four at the time.

Lowndes was impressive out of the box with a 1:12.3892s in the #888 Autobarn ZB Commodore which briefly had him more than three tenths clear of the field.

David Reynolds, however, was one of the few who improved during subsequent runs and he broke up the Banyo contingent with a lap which put the #9 Erebus Penrite ZB Commodore fourth-fastest.

Reynolds in fact improved in the final run, but not enough to advance any further.

Whincup went personal best to the first sector late in the 20-minute session but that lap was ultimately no quicker.

There were, in fact, no net positional changes up and down the field in the final run as the sun came out, meaning that McLaughlin picked up an eighth pole of the year ahead of Race 17.

“Fantastic car (but) I made a massive blue in that last run there so luckily no one went faster,” said the championship leader.

“I was a bit worried about rain around here, I reckon it’d be pretty sketchy,” he added regarding forecasts for this afternoon.

“I think everyone at Shell V-Power Racing had their heads down yesterday; we weren’t the quickest car but we knew we could be and we’ve certainly worked on it.

“Thankfully we’ve got the goods.”

Whincup was buoyed by improved one-lap pace for Triple Eight.

“That’s as close as we’ve been in qualifying spec for a long time; we’re all pretty encouraged by that,” said the defending champion.

“Obviously we’d love to be on pole but (we) made some big gains, which is the most important thing.”

Mark Winterbottom achieved a best starting berth in six races by putting the #5 The Bottle-O FGX Falcon sixth on the grid.

The next Tickford Racing entry was Cameron Waters (Monster Energy FGX Falcon) in 13th, ahead of Richie Stanaway (#56 Rabble.Club FGX Falcon) and Chaz Mostert (#55 Supercheap Auto FGX Falcon) in 16th and 17th respectively.

Row 4 will be Tim Slade (#14 Freightliner ZB Commodore) and Will Davison (#230 Milwaukee FGX Falcon).

Fabian Coulthard was ninth-fastest in the #12 DJR Team Penske FGX Falcon) and Rick Kelly (#15 Castrol Altima) the first of the Nissans in 10th.

Of the Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing duo, James Courtney (#25 ZB Commodore) was 14th and Scott Pye (#2 ZB Commodore) 19th.

Race 17 of the Virgin Australia Supercars Championship (70 laps) starts at 1605 local time/AEST.

Results: Supercars Armor All Qualifying Race 17

1  17  Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.1239*SS
2   1  Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.1792 SS 00.0553
3  97  Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane Van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.2319 SS 00.1080
4   9  Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.2795 SS 00.1556
5 888  Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.3892 SS 00.2653
6   5  The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.4036 SS 00.2797
7  14  Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.5121 SS 00.3882
8 230  Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.5828 SS 00.4589
9  12  Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.5829 SS 00.4590
10  15  Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:12.6118 SS 00.4879
11   8  Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.6684 SS 00.5445
12  99  Erebus Penrite Racing Anton de Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7032 SS 00.5793
13   6  Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.7095 SS 00.5856
14  25  Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7367 SS 00.6128
15  33  Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7511 SS 00.6272
16  56 Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.7808 SS 00.6569
17  55  Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.7834 SS 00.6595
18  19  Tekno Autosport Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.8893 SS 00.7654
19   2  Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.9366 SS 00.8127
20  18  Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.9887 SS 00.8648
21   7  Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:13.0089 SS 00.8850
22  35  Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.0759 SS 00.9520
23  78  Team Harvey Norman Simona De Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:13.0986 S 00.9747
24  34  Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1605 SS 01.0366
25  21  Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1925 SS 01.0686
26  23  Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:13.4843 SS 01.3604

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]