Jacobson wins Super2 Race 1 after failure for Jones

Garry Jacobson

Garry Jacobson was there to pick up the pieces when a likely win for Macauley Jones went begging due to a suspension failure in Super2 Race 1 in Townsville.

The 2016 Dunlop Super2 Series winner inherited first position when Jones experienced his problem just before halfway and ran comfortably clear of Paul Dumbrell thereafter.

Dumbrell drove a lonely race to second position at the chequered flag and Alex Rullo rounded out the minors.

Jones had secured a career first Armor All Pole Position earlier in the day and showed a clean pair of heels when the lights went out.

Jacobson got by the other front-row starter, Thomas Randle, as the field ran to the second corner and made room for Dumbrell to follow him past.

Jones steadily pulled away and was poised for a first points-paying win in Super2, having broken through in the Bathurst 250 last year.

He was around one second to the good when the #14 Brad Jones Racing VF Commodore dropped onto its right-rear corner with a damper-related failure on Lap 9 of 21.

The 23-year-old shortcut the Turn 7/Turn 8 complex, unable to turn, before retreating to pit lane.

Jacobson, by that time, was already over two seconds ahead of Dumbrell and approximately maintained that advantage over the course of the race.

The win was the second for the #26 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima pilot this season and his first in Townsville.

Dumbrell extended his series lead with second position in the #88 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore.

Rullo passed Thomas Randle on Lap 11 and put five seconds between the two over the remaining 10 laps to take a second Super2 race podium in the #62 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima.

Randle (#5 Tickford Racing FGX Falcon) finished fourth and Shae Davies (#67 Paul Morris Motorsport FGX Falcon) staved off Chris Pither (#44 Garry Rogers Motorsport VF Commodore) during two separate periods of the race to finish fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Brodie Kostecki (#57 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore), Dean Fiore (#23 MW Motorsport Nissan Altima), Adam Marjoram (#15 Image Racing VF Commodore), and Kurt Kostecki (#55 Kostecki Brothers Racing VF Commodore).

Bryce Fullwood (#16 Matt Stone Racing VF Commodore) and Will Brown (#38 Eggleston Motorsport VF Commodore) took the chequered flag in 14th and 15th respectively.

Jones was sent back on track after BJR effected a fix to Car #14 but did not complete enough laps to be classified a finisher.

“It was really disappointing,” said the second-generation racer during the race.

“I think the car was really good, it was holding onto its tyres really well so far and it’s really disappointing for the guys.

“We had really good pace so it’s a very unfortunate way to end today.”

The Super2 field will be back on track for Armor All Qualifying for Race 2 tomorrow at the Watpac Townsville 400 from 1100 local time/AEST.

Results: Race 1 Updated*

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 26 MEGA Fuels / MWM Garry Jacobson Nissan Altima 21 26:40.2735
2 88 Eggleston Motorsport Paul Dumbrell Holden Commodore VF 21 26:42.7374
3 62 Land Surveys / MWM Alex Rullo Nissan Altima 21 26:45.4773
4 5 Skye Sands Thomas Randle Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:50.5627
5 67 Paul Morris Motorsport Shae Davies Ford Falcon FG/X 21 26:52.8463
6 44 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Chris Pither Holden Commodore VF 21 26:53.1730
7 57 Arcoplate Racing Brodie Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 21 26:53.4623
8 23 Sitech-Trimble / MWM Dean Fiore Nissan Altima 21 26:54.6643
9 15 Auto One Racing Adam Marjoram Holden Commodore VF 21 26:59.6715
10 56 Arcoplate Racing Jake Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 21 27:03.1057
11 8 BGD Architects Zane Goddard Holden Commodore VF 21 27:03.3643
12 16 Middy’s Electrical Bryce Fullwood Holden Commodore VF 21 27:08.1711
13 55 Arcoplate Racing Kurt Kostecki Holden Commodore VF 21 27:17.8043
14 38 Eggleston Motorsport William Brown Holden Commodore VF 21 27:20.7152
15 21 SCT Logistics Jack Smith Holden Commodore VF 21 27:20.8766
16 99 Wilson Security PAYCE GRM Mason Barbera Holden Commodore VF 21 27:21.6271
17 54 Eggleston Motorsport Nathan Morcom Holden Commodore VF 21 27:26.0843
18 50 Sherriff Electrical Racing Gerard McLeod Holden Commodore VF 21 27:29.9020
19 63 Eggleston Motorsport Dominic Storey Holden Commodore VF 21 27:52.4655
DNF 10 Grove Hire Brenton Grove Holden Commodore VF 20 29:52.9984
DNF 18 Auto One Albury Matthew Chahda Holden Commodore VF 19 24:32.8187
DNF 14 Payce Macauley Jones Holden Commodore VF 14 26:43.2482
DNF 49 Dynamic Supplies Jordan Boys Holden Commodore VF 12 15:41.6509

* Post-race penalties for Cars #21, #38, #55, #63

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]