Dontas gives Triton first SuperUtes race win

Craig Dontas

Craig Dontas has earned a first win for himself and the Mitsubishi Triton in Race 1 of SuperUtes at Townsville.

The Japanese marque and Sieders Racing Team were on for a one-two until Elliot Barbour slowed with a technical problem on the penultimate of 10 laps.

That drama opened the door for Christopher Formosa and the Ford Ranger to finish second, the best result so far for Ranger Racing, and Aaron Cameron third in a Peters Motorsport Mazda BT-50.

Dontas and Barbour started at the front of the field and the former led from pole into the first corner.

Formosa took over second position when he ran the outside line through Turn 2 as Barbour was held up under brakes.

Barbour reclaimed the position with a textbook move at Turn 11 on Lap 3, at which time Dontas had eased to a margin exceeding two seconds.

A battle for third position ensued between Formosa and Cameron over the next few laps, in which the former eventually prevailed.

Dontas’ lead got out over five seconds before he cruised to the finish line 3.4s ahead of Formosa and another 5.5s clear of Cameron.

Craig Woods finished fourth having started ninth in his Western Sydney Motorsport Toyota Hilux, the highlight of his drive a double move in slicing between Tom Alexander and Ben Walsh at the start of Lap 8.

Matt MacKelden pic: Fox Sports

Alexander (Ross Stone Racing Holden Colorado) and Walsh (WSM Hilux) took fifth and sixth respectively.

Tomas Gasperak was seventh in the Team 18 Holden Colorado while Barbour managed to make the chequered flag in eighth.

Matt MacKelden finished a lap down in ninth after running off and slapping the wall at Turn 6 early on in the SRT Hilux.

Ryal Harris was two laps off the pace but at least a classified finisher after smoke belched from his Peters BT-50 mid-race.

ECB SuperUtes Race 2 starts tomorrow at 1020 local time/AEST.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Laps Race time
1 45 Team Mitsubishi Triton Craig Dontas Mitsubishi Triton 10 17:30.2595
2 49 Allgate Christopher Formosa Ford Ranger 10 17:33.6656
3 95 Bushranger Racing Aaron Cameron Mazda BT50 10 17:39.2014
4 64 Western Sydney Motorsport Craig Woods Toyota Hilux 10 17:41.8216
5 22 SP Tools Tom Alexander Holden Colorado 10 17:42.9342
6 8 Car City Ben Walsh Toyota Hilux 10 17:48.6977
7 18 AC Delco Racing Tomas Gasperak Holden Colorado 10 17:49.7799
8 87 Team Mitsubishi Triton Elliot Barbour Mitsubishi Triton 10 18:26.3953
9 99 Kubota Tractors Australia Matthew MacKelden Toyota Hilux 9 18:08.6286
10 58 EFS 4×4 Racing Ryal Harris Mazda BT50 8 19:06.3488

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]