Whincup leads RBHRT one-two in Practice 2

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup has topped Friday practice at the Watpac Townsville 400 by a significant margin as Shane van Gisbergen made for a Red Bull Holden Racing Team one-two.

Whincup (#1 ZB Commodore) ended the day with a best time of 1:12.2435s, 0.3437s faster than his team-mate (#97 ZB Commodore) as both took new tyres for the end of Practice 2.

Scott McLaughlin effectively lost the first half of the 40-minute session due to a throttle sensor problem in the #17 Shell V-Power Racing FGX Falcon.

When he did attempt a first flyer, McLaughlin went to the top, before trading fastest laps with Whincup with around 10 minutes remaining.

Practice 1 fast man van Gisbergen and then Whincup usurped McLaughlin in the latter stages.

“We’re on our program, which is nice; we got through everything in P1 and everything in P2,” said Whincup.

“We didn’t maximise P1 but we felt like we sort of maximised then.

“Everyone will take a step up tomorrow, but (the) car is feeling nice.

“After the test day (and) after Darwin, the car is much nicer to drive and it puts a smile on my dial when the thing is good to drive.”

Van Gisbergen, the Practice 1 pace-setter, said, “It’s good, feels pretty good so far.

“We have good tyres so that’s put us up front, but everyone was on a new (tyre) then I think so hopefully it’s genuine.

“I think qualifying is our biggest test; we’re always fast in practice and racing but in qualifying we can’t make the tyre work.

“We need to see what they did (Car #1 crew) and put it together.”

Traffic prevented McLaughlin from improving on his ultimate personal best of 1:12.6438s but the lap was still good enough for third-fastest.

“Just come up on that green lap there and just a few guys came out the pits but it’s just not worth the risking going to the absolute maximum just in case they didn’t see me,” explained the championship leader.

“We’ve got a bit of work to do but overall not too bad today.”

Nick Percat (#8 Dunlop ZB Commodore) moved from the back of the top 10 to fourth in the final minute, one position ahead of Will Davison (#230 Milwaukee FGX Falcon).

The top 10 was completed by David Reynolds (#9 Erebus Penrite ZB Commodore), Rick Kelly (#14 Castrol Nissan Altima), Jack Le Brocq (#19 Tekno Autosports ZB Commodore), Fabian Coulthard (#12 DJR Team Penske FGX Falcon), and Scott Pye (#2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile ZB Commodore).

Tickford’s quartet was led by Mark Winterbottom (#5 The Bottle-O FGX Falcon) in 11th, from Cameron Waters (#6 Monster Energy FGX Falcon) in 19th, Chaz Mostert (#55 Sueprcheap Auto FGX Falcon) in 20th, and Richie Stanaway (#56 Rabble.Club FGX Falcon) at the rear of the 26-car field.

Craig Lowndes (#888 Autobarn ZB Commodore) was 15th-fastest and Garth Tander (#33 Wilson Security ZB Commodore) 22nd.

Next up is Armor All Qualifying for Race 17 of the championship tomorrow at 1155 local time /AEST.

Results: Practice 2

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Fastest lap Split
1 1 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.2435
2 97 Red Bull Holden Racing Team Shane van Gisbergen Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.5872 0:00.3437
3 17 Shell V-Power Racing Team Scott McLaughlin Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.6438 0:00.4003
4 8 Dunlop Racing Nick Percat Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.6582 0:00.4147
5 230 Milwaukee Racing Will Davison Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.6926 0:00.4491
6 9 Erebus Penrite Racing David Reynolds Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.7153 0:00.4718
7 15 Castrol Racing Rick Kelly Nissan Altima 1:12.8247 0:00.5812
8 19 Tekno Autosports Jack Le Brocq Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.8387 0:00.5952
9 12 Shell V-Power Racing Team Fabian Coulthard Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.9445 0:00.7010
10 2 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing Scott Pye Holden Commodore ZB 1:12.9740 0:00.7305
11 5 The Bottle-O Racing Team Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG/X 1:12.9746 0:00.7311
12 23 Drive Racing Michael Caruso Nissan Altima 1:13.0165 0:00.7730
13 25 Mobil 1 Boost Mobile Racing James Courtney Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0333 0:00.7898
14 14 Freightliner Racing Tim Slade Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0540 0:00.8105
15 888 Autobarn Lowndes Racing Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.0908 0:00.8473
16 18 Preston Hire Racing Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1054 0:00.8619
17 99 Erebus Penrite Racing Anton De Pasquale Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.1130 0:00.8695
18 78 Team Harvey Norman Simona de Silvestro Nissan Altima 1:13.1547 0:00.9112
19 6 Monster Energy Racing Cameron Waters Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.1754 0:00.9319
20 55 Supercheap Auto Racing Chaz Mostert Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.1953 0:00.9518
21 7 Plus Fitness Racing Andre Heimgartner Nissan Altima 1:13.1955 0:00.9520
22 33 Wilson Security Racing GRM Garth Tander Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.3990 0:01.1555
23 35 Bigmate Racing Todd Hazelwood Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.4058 0:01.1623
24 21 Team CoolDrive Tim Blanchard Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.4640 0:01.2205
25 34 Wilson Security Racing GRM James Golding Holden Commodore ZB 1:13.5360 0:01.2925
26 56 RABBLE.club Racing Richie Stanaway Ford Falcon FG/X 1:13.7510 0:01.5075

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]