Marquez sets late fastest lap in Barcelona test

Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez set the fastest lap late in the MotoGP post-race test day in Barcelona.

The championship leading Repsol Honda rider went down during the day before setting a 1:38.916s on his 86th lap of 88.

It ended Andrea Iannone’s approximately six-hour spell at the top of the order with four minutes to run in the eight-hour session.

The Suzuki Ecstar rider had usurped Tito Rabat, who remained second-fastest until Marquez split them with around 30 minutes remaining.

Avintia Racing’s Rabat was the first of the Ducatis, one position ahead of the second in Pramac’s Danilo Petrucci, whose day was curtailed by a crash at Turn 9.

Jack Miller ended the day 10th on an older Pramac Ducati while the factory Ducati Team did not test.

Fastest Yamaha was Tech3’s Johann Zarco in fifth, with the Movistar Yamaha riders Maverick Viñales ninth and Valentino Rossi 14th.

Cal Crutchlow was sixth-fastest as the LCR Honda rider, like factory counterpart Marquez, trialled aerodynamics.

Riders also tested a new Michelin front tyre during the day.

Round 8 of MotoGP is the Dutch TT on June 29-July 1.

In-season testing: Catalunya

Pos Num Rider Nat Team Bike Time Gap 1st/prev
1 93 Marc MARQUEZ ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:38.916
2 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:39.020 0.104/0.104
3 53 Tito RABAT ESP Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:39.362 0.446/0.342
4 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:39.488 0.572/0.126
5 5 Johann ZARCO FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:39.534 0.618/0.046
6 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda CASTROL Honda 1:39.727 0.811/0.193
7 26 Dani PEDROSA ESP Repsol Honda Team Honda 1:39.738 0.822/0.011
8 42 Alex RINS ESP Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:39.793 0.877/0.055
9 25 Maverick VIÑALES ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:39.797 0.881/0.004
10 43 Jack MILLER AUS Alma Pramac Racing Ducati 1:39.799 0.883/0.002
11 41 Aleix ESPARGARO ESP Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:39.915 0.999/0.116
12 21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:40.004 1.088/0.089
13 55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 1:40.108 1.192/0.104
14 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 1:40.124 1.208/0.016
15 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:40.462 1.546/0.338
16 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN LCR Honda IDEMITSU Honda 1:40.541 1.625/0.079
17 44 Pol ESPARGARO ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:40.721 1.805/0.180
18 45 Scott REDDING GBR Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 1:40.732 1.816/0.011
19 10 Xavier SIMEON BEL Reale Avintia Racing Ducati 1:41.145 2.229/0.413
20 12 Thomas LUTHI SUI EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 1:41.207 2.291/0.062
21 50 Sylvain GUINTOLI FRA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 1:41.316 2.400/0.109
22 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing KTM 1:41.976 3.060/0.660

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]