Evans wins crash marred Darwin Carrera Cup Race 2

John Steffensen and Dean Cook had a heavy crash in Race 2 of Carrera Cup in Darwin pic: Fox Sports

Jaxon Evans has taken victory in a crash marred Race 2 for Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia at Hidden Valley Raceway.

The McElrea Racing driver found himself out front following a raft of incidents at the beginning of the race, which took out last year’s series winner David Wall as well as Dale Wood.

Pole-sitter and yesterday’s race winner, Wall, stalled at the start on the grid, leaving drivers behind to swerve and avoid his stricken car.

David Wall and Dale Wood came together on the start line

Dylan O’Keeffe, who started the row behind, managed to get around him in one piece, but an unsighted Wood had nowhere to go and clipped rear of Wall’s car.

The incident ripped the right-front wheel from Wood’s machine before he came to rest further on in the lap.

A secondary crash occurred only moments later on the exit of Turn 1 when John Steffensen and Dean Cook came together, sending the former into the tyre barrier heavily.

All drivers emerged from their cars unscathed, with race control deploying the Safety Car in order to recover the damaged cars.

Evans inherited the lead in all the chaos, as the New Zealander led O’Keeffe and James Moffat back to green flag racing on Lap 6.

It wasn’t long though before the Safety Car returned to the circuit after a handful of drivers in the mid-pack tripped over each other when the field condensed in anticipation of the restart.

Nick McBride made heavy contact with the rear of Josh Hunt’s car, the impact taking both out of the race as drivers behind used evasive manoeuvres to avoid getting tangled up in the incident, including Anthony Gilbertson.

Nick McBride and Josh Hunt crashed on the safety car restart

Evans once again led the field back to green on Lap 9 ahead of a one-lap dash to a time-certain finish.

He held off O’Keeffe right to the chequered flag in front of Moffat, Jordan Love and Michael Almond who completed the top five.

Cameron Hill crossed the line sixth, while Adrian Flack took out the Pro-Am class in seventh outright ahead of Glen Wood and second in Pro-Am (ninth outright), Stephen Grove.

The Carrera Cup field will return to the track at 1200 local time/1230pm AEST for their final race of the weekend, set to take place over 35 laps.

Results: Race 2 Updated*

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Laps Race time
1 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) P 10 21:03.4377
2 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) P 10 21:04.1777
3 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (NSW) P 10 21:05.1619
4 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love (WA) P 10 21:05.8659
5 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond (SA) P 10 21:06.3509
6 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) A 10 21:06.9658
7 888 Porsche Cent,Brighton/Doncaste Glen Wood (VIC) P 10 21:07.3792
8 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) A 10 21:08.5814
9 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles (NSW) A 10 21:10.1472
10 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) A 10 21:10.5047
11 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (WA) P 10 21:10.5516
12 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A 10 21:10.8130
13 5 Arris/Strongbuild Greg Taylor (NSW) A 10 21:11.0840
14 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) A 10 21:15.0097
15 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams (VIC) A 10 21:17.0338
16 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) P 10 21:21.5878
17 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) A 10 21:39.2521
18 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) P 10 21:40.6515
DNF 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt (QLD) P 4 10:20.4172
DNF 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P 4 10:22.3936
DNF 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) P
DNF 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P
DNF 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) A

* Post-race penalties for Car #12 (27s), Car #111 (15s)

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]