Wall converts in Carrera Cup Darwin opener

David Wall won the opening Carrera Cup Australia race in Darwin

David Wall converted his pole position into a race win during the opening Porsche Wilson Security Carrera Cup Australia hit-out of the weekend at Hidden Valley Raceway.

Leading from start to finish, Wall headed home points leader Jaxon Evans by just over a second at the line, while Dylan O’Keeffe inherited third for the 18-lap race.

Wall got the jump off pole and led cleanly down to the first corner ahead of Nick McBride and Dale Wood.

A fast starting Evans slipped into third on Lap 2 when both Wood and O’Keeffe banged doors at Turn 6.

Evans then found himself second when McBride ran wide at Turn 1 on Lap 4 and dropped a position.

The change for the lead in the Pro-Am class came on Lap 13 as Adrian Flack put a move up the inside of pole-sitter Stephen Grove under brakes for Turn 1.

McBride had a lock up at the same corner a lap later and went off the road, falling from third to seventh and going wheel to wheel with Cameron Hill as he rejoined the circuit, before the latter eventually prevailed.

Up front however, Wall slowly stretched out his lead with a commanding performance, taking the win comfortably in front of Evans.

O’Keeffe crossed the line third, ahead of James Moffat and Wood who rounded out the top five.

Hill finished sixth, while a recovering McBride managed to retain seventh ahead of Jordan Love.

Flack took the Pro-Am honours in ninth outright, his first class victory in Carrera Cup, with Michael Almond completing the top 10.

The only retirements were Greg Taylor and Marc Cini, who came together at the start after the former stalled on the grid.

Carrera Cup will be back out on track on Sunday morning for Race 2 at 0845 local time/0915 AEST.

Results: Race 1

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Driver Class Laps Race time
1 1 PAYCE/Wilson Security David Wall (NSW) P 18 20:39.2966
2 7 Morris Finance Jaxon Evans (QLD) P 18 20:40.3819
3 88 APB Group Dylan O’Keeffe (VIC) P 18 20:41.3048
4 18 Payce/Wilson Security/JBL James Moffat (NSW) P 18 20:45.1123
5 100 Sonic/Polyflor Dale Wood (VIC) P 18 20:45.6491
6 111 Southern Star Truck Centre/Any Cameron Hill (ACT) P 18 20:48.0501
7 8 Porsche Centre Melbourne Nick McBride (VIC) P 18 20:49.6177
8 777 Bob Jane T Marts Jordan Love (WA) P 18 20:51.5725
9 20 Agas National Adrian Flack (NSW) A 18 20:52.6462
10 77 Bob Jane T Marts/PSA Michael Almond (SA) P 18 20:53.6420
11 4 Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) A 18 20:55.1918
12 888 Porsche Cent,Brighton/Doncaste Glen Wood (VIC) P 18 20:55.4159
13 23 JBS Australia Roger Lago (QLD) A 18 21:00.3541
14 6 Miles Advisory Partners/Garage Tim Miles (NSW) A 18 21:02.0261
15 19 Hallmark Homes Anthony Gilbertson (QLD) A 18 21:03.3501
16 15 LORY Construction Josh Hunt (QLD) P 18 21:04.3801
17 12 Garwood Motorsport Adam Garwood (TAS) P 18 21:06.1771
18 14 Sonic/Totally 4×4 Peter Major (WA) P 18 21:07.9925
19 808 Crown/Timken/Porsche Melbourne John Steffensen (VIC) A 18 21:09.6792
20 22 BMF/Pitman Racing Dean Cook (VIC) A 18 21:16.5910
21 131 Harcourts Williams Graham Williams (VIC) A 18 21:45.3220
DNF 5 Arris/Strongbuild Greg Taylor (NSW) A
DNF 9 Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) A

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]