MCM Wrap: Everingham wins V8TC opener

Tyler Everingham

Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series

Tyler Everingham has taken over the lead of the V8 Touring Car Series with a win in Race 1 at the Muscle Car Masters meeting at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Everingham had qualified his #27 MW Motorsport FG Falcon on pole but that put him on the wetter side of the circuit for the start after earlier rain.

Jon McCorkindale took the lead from the outside of the front row and Michael Anderson jumped from fifth to second, but Everingham exited the first corner in fourth position, behind Brendan Strong.

Strong ended up of the track due to contact at Turn 2, which was later determined to be a racing incident.

McCorkindale skipped away to a two-second lead while Everingham and Zak Best, in the #78 MW Motorsport FG Falcon, passed Anderson at Turn 2 on Lap 3.

A Safety Car for a Brad Neill spin closed the gap but McCorkindale held the lead for two laps after the restart before the MWM pair got by at Turn 6.

Everingham ended up beating his team-mate by 1.8s after 10 laps, with McCorkindale a further 1.7s behind in the #69 Dial Before You Dig BF Falcon.

Round 3 concludes with two more races tomorrow at 0923 and 1345 local time/AEST.

Ashley Jarvis

Performax TA2 Muscle Car Series

Ashley Jarvis won each of the first TA2 races, despite Aaron Seton taking pole by 1.99s on his series debut.

Seton took the initial lead in Race 1 but spun at Turn 3 on Lap 2 and dropped to eighth.

While he mounted an impressive recovery to ultimately finish second, he had opened the door to Jarvis to waltz to an 11.34s victory.

Peter Robinson finished third having inherited the position due to a final-lap puncture for Ian McAlister.

Jarvis took out Race 2 by an even bigger margin of 14.85s over Russell Wright, who takes over the series lead as a result.

Seton was the outlier in starting on slicks and his choice proved to be the wrong one as he battled to 11th.

Two more eight-lap races take place tomorrow at 1104 and 1535.

Group A/Group C Heritage Touring Cars

Gregory Keam (Mustang) and Norman Mogg (VL Commodore) each took out a race in Group A/Group C competition, the latter also finishing second in Race 1.

Sunday sees a Group C race at 0900, a Group A race at 1019, and the field combined for a final race at 1317.

Group N Historic Touring Cars

Andrew Taite (Chevrolet Camaro) took comfortable wins in both Group N races.

There were identical top threes in each, with Christopher Thomas Holden Torana second and Wayne Rogerson (Mazda RX2 Coupe) third.

Races 3 and 4 are scheduled for 1150 and 1558 tomorrow.

Group S Historic Sports Cars

Wayne Seabrook (Porsche 911) won the opening Group S race from pole position, leading every lap.

Damien Meyer (MG Midget) gradually rose from sixth on the grid to finish second, ahead of Simon Meyer (Austin Healey Sprite).

Races 2 and 3 start from 1127 and 1417 tomorrow.

National Sports Sedans

Race 1 of Sports Sedans went the way of Thomas Randle despite the youngster starting from the back of the 14-car grid.

Randle hit the front by the end of Lap 5, and eventually won by 7.60s from Tony Ricciardello after 10 laps.

The final two races take place tomorrow at 0951 and 1445.

Join the discussion below in the comments section

Please note: reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]