Kumho V8 title race to open up at SMP

The V8 Touring Cars field at Phillip Island

The chasing pack has a golden opportunity to overhaul Jack Smith with the series leader absent from this weekend’s V8 Touring Cars round at Sydney Motorsport Park.

Smith currently holds a 23-point lead in the standings but will sit out Round 3 of the season as planned in his part-time campaign this year in the unofficial third tier of Supercars.

Best-placed to overtake the Brad Jones Racing driver are MW Motorsport team-mates Tyler Everingham and Zak Best, who are split by two points in second and third position respectively.

Each has a race win so far this season while Smith has taken out the other four races held across Phillip Island and Winton.

The Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series will again have three races this weekend as one of the key attractions on the Muscle Car Masters program.

Qualifying and a 10-lap opening race are scheduled for Saturday (June 9), and two 12-lap races on Sunday.

Also on the program are Group A/Group C Heritage Touring Cars, Group N Historic Touring Cars, National Sports Sedans, Group S Historic Sports Cars, and the Performax TA2 Muscle Car Series.

Smith, who also competes in the Super2 Series with BJR, is expected to return to the field for the following rounds at Queensland Raceway and The Bend.

Entry list: Round 3, Sydney Motorsport Park

Num Team/Sponsor Driver Car Class
2 Page Bros, Jayco Steven Page Commodore Kumho Cup
7 Mocomm Motorsports Communications Jim Pollicina Commodore Kumho Cup
9 Neill Motorsport Bradley Neill Ford Falcon Kumho Cup
10 Mr HDT Race Cars & Engines Sean Fardell Commodore Heritage
11 Kenwood Homes Michael Anderson Ford Falcon Championship
17 TF Maintenance Jason Foley Ford Falcon Kumho Cup
24 Nandi Kiss Racing Nandi Kiss Commodore Kumho Cup
27 MW Motorsport Tyler Everingham Ford Falcon Championship
33 McDonald Motorsport Jamie McDonald Commodore Heritage
41 Dial Before You Dig Racing Mark Primmer Ford Falcon Kumho Cup
69 Dial Before You Dig/Mac Motorsport Jon McCorkindale Ford Falcon Championship
75 B Strong Electrical Brendan Strong Commodore Kumho Cup
76 Brownes Chill Garry Hills Commodore Kumho Cup
78 MW Motorsport Zak Best Ford Falcon Championship
88 WakeUp! Side Bar Warren Millett Commodore Kumho Cup
111 Custom Garage Andy Cantrell Ford Falcon Heritage

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]