Walkinshaw Porsche on pole for PI101

The Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche of Liam Talbot and John Martin

The Walkinshaw GT3 Porsche of Liam Talbot and John Martin is on pole for tomorrow’s Phillip Island 101 from pole position, while Shane van Gisbergen and Duvashen Padayachee start last.

Talbot/Martin will share the front row with the #100 Team SRM BMW M6 of Steve Richards and Michael Almond after the latter was fastest in Qualifying 2.

Martin missed out on the fastest lap in Qualifying 1, which featured the field’s heavy hitters, by just 0.02s and Talbot was third-quickest in Q2 but their average time in the #911 Porsche 911 GT3 R was the best.

Talbot currently leads the Australian GT Championship, which is comprised by the sprint rounds and three Australian Endurance Championship rounds, of which this is the second.

Row 2 will be an all-Audi affair after Garth Tander/Geoff Emery were third-fastest in the #1 Jamec Pem R8 LMS and Daniel Gaunt/Tony Bates fourth-fastest in the #24 KFC R8 LMS.

AEC Round 1 winners Tony D’Alberto and Max Twigg qualified seventh in the #8 WM Waste Management Mercedes-AMG GT3.

Lining up alongside will be the #3 Ah Apartments Audi R8 LMS of Ash Samadi and Dylan O’Keeffe, the latter of whom topped Qualifying 1.

Grant Denyer, a late addition to the entry list, combined with Tony Quinn to put Quinn’s #7 Mariani Beef Jerky McLaren 650S 14th on the grid.

Leading the GT4 contingent were Jeremy Gray/Andrew Miedecke in 16th in the #67 JMG Aston Martin Vantage.

An oil drive issue sidelined the #58 YNA Autosport McLaren 650S from either qualifying session, meaning the car piloted by van Gisbergen and Padayachee will start from the rear of the grid.

The AEC field will warm up tomorrow at 1005 local time/AEST before the race starts at 1315.

The live stream will be available on Speedcafe.com.

Starting grid: Phillip Island 101

Pos Num Team/Sponsor Drivers Car
1 911 Walkinshaw GT3 Liam Talbot
John Martin
Porsche 911 GT3 R
2 100 BMW Team SRM Steve Richards
Michael Almond
3 1 Valvoline Geoff Emery
Garth Tander
Audi R8 LMS
4 24 KFC/Ctech Laser/Moveitnet/B&B Tony Bates
Daniel Gaunt
Audi R8 LMS
5 63 Eggleston Motorsport Peter Hackett
Jake Fouracre
Mercedes-AMG GT3
6 59 Total Oil/Opti-Coat/Boost Mobile Fraser Ross
Jaxon Evans
McLaren 650S GT3
7 8 WM Waste Management Max Twigg
Tony D’Alberto
Mercedes-AMG GT3
8 3 Ah Apartments Ash Samadi
Dylan O’Keeffe
Audi R8 LMS
9 777 The Bend Motor Sport Park Yasser Shahin
Luke Youlden
Mercedes-AMG GT3
10 6 Wall Racing Adrian Deitz
Cameron McConville
Lamborghini Huracan GT3
11 10 International Motorsport Andrew Fawcet
Jonny Reid
Audi R8 LMS
12 222 Scott Taylor Motorsport Scott Taylor
Craig Baird
Mercedes-AMG GT3
13 11 Objective Racing Tony Walls
Warren Luff
McLaren 650S GT3
14 7 Mariani Beef Jerky Tony Quinn
Grant Denyer
McLaren 650S GT3
15 20 LOCAL Search by MARC Cars Adam Hargraves
Daniel Jilesen
MARC Mazda V8
16 67 JMG/Bilstein Jeremy Gray
Andrew Miedecke
Aston Martin Vantage GT4
17 13 RHC Jorgensen – Strom by MARC Cars Daren Jorgensen
Brett Strom
18 48 Forum Group/M Motorsport Vince Tesoriero
Glen Wood
19 55 Hogs Breath Café/Griffith Corporation Mark Griffith
Rio Nugara
Ginetta G55 GT4
20 50 Vantage Freight/M Motorsport David Crampton
Trent Harrison
21 58 YNA Autosport Duvashen Padayachee
Shane van Gisbergen
McLaren 650S GT3

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]