Speedcafe contributor wins photography award 

Neville Bailey’s winning photo of Ken Smith’s crash

Speedcafe.com contributing photographer Neville Bailey has picked up the Best Single Photograph gong at the MotorSport New Zealand Awards.

Bailey, a long time contributor to Speedcafe.com claimed the honour for a photo published on this website from the Formula 5000 support race at last year’s ITM Auckland SuperSprint (November 3-5).

The veteran photographer captured a frightening crash for famous New Zealand driver Ken Smith, who suffered a rear wing failure on the entry to the high-speed Turn 1.

Smith emerged from the incident unscathed.

“When the accident happened he hit right where I was standing,” said Bailey.

“The noise was terrifying with bits flying everywhere. As I slowly got back to my feet I was very apprehensive as I didn’t think an F5000 could hit a concrete wall that hard and the driver survive.

“As the car landed up a long way away from were it hit it took me a while to (slowly) get there only to find Kenny climbing out and walking around the car wondering what the hell just happened (the rear wing broke) not a scratch on him.

“I don’t wish to experience that again as it was all a bit scary.

“Later on I found him in the pits being interviewed by a journalist and just went up and gave him a big hug.

“I think he found that to be a lot more frightening than hitting a concrete wall at some horrendous speed.

“The guy to me, and many many others is someone very special and I think it would have been my last motorsport event if it hadn’t turned out the way it did.”

2018 MotorSport New Zealand Annual Awards

Wall of Fame
Earl Bamber, Whanganui

Premier Awards
The Lupp Trophy – Mike Small (Timaru)
The Steel Memorial Trophy – Liam Lawson (Pukekohe)
The Rally Founders Trophy – Andrew Hawkeswood (Auckland)
The Jim Clark Trophy – Brendon Hartley (Monaco, originally Palmerston North)

2018 ClubSport Awards

NZ ClubSport Gold Star Champion – Cameron Morison (Ashburton Car Club, Christchurch)
NZ Junior ClubSport Champion – Jordan Grant (Motorsport Bay of Plenty, Tauranga
NZ Hillclimb Gold Star Champion – Matthew Penrose (Autosport Car Club, Christchurch)

2017 Rally Championships 

NZ Rally Challenge Trophy (Driver) – Adam Bligh (Tauranga)
NZ Rally Challenge (Co-driver) – Ric Chalmers (Hastings)
NZ Historic Challenge (Driver) – Tony Gosling (Christchurch)
NZ Historic Challenge (Co-driver) – Blair Read (Auckland)
2WD Rally Champion (Driver) – Dylan Thomson (Christchurch)
2WD Rally Champion (Co-driver) – Amy Hudson (Christchurch)
NZ Junior Rally Champion – Dylan Thomson (Christchurch)
NZ Rally Gold Star Champion (Driver) – Andrew Hawkeswood (Auckland)
NZ Rally Gold Star Championship (Co-driver) – Jeff Cress (Auckland)

2018 Race Awards

NZ 3 Hour Endurance Racing Champions – Simon Evans (Auckland) and Callum Quin (Auckland)
NZ 1 Hour Endurance Racing Champion – Shane Hodgson (Auckland)
NZ Formula First Champion – Callum Crawley (Feilding)
NZ Super Truck Champion – Alex Little (Wellington)
NZ Porsche Champion – Paul Kelly (Christchurch)
NZ Formula Ford Champion – Callum Hedge (Auckland)
NZ Formula Ford Champion (Class 2) – Robert Toshach (Christchurch)
NZ Formula Ford Champion (Class 3) – Matthew Butchart (Richmond)
Toyota 86 Champion – Jack Milligan (Christchurch)
NZ V8 Ute Champion – Richard Moore (Auckland)
NZ Touring Cars Champion (Class 2) – Liam MacDonald (Invercargill)
NZ Touring Cars Champion (Class 1) – Andre Heimgartner (Melbourne, originally Auckland)
Toyota Racing Series Gold Star Champion – Robert Shwartzman (St Petersburg, Russia)
Bruce McLaren Memorial Trophy (for top New Zealander) – Marcus Armstrong (Christchurch)

Honour Awards

Distinguished Service Award – Helen Cameron (Stratford)
Distinguished Service Award – Karen Dovey (Tauranga)
Distinguished Service Award – Mark Sheehan (Auckland)
Distinguished Service Award – Dom Kalasih (Wellington)
Distinguished Service Award – Naomi Bray (Wellington)
Distinguished Service Award – Anne Boyce (Auckland)
Distinguished Service Award – Chris Adams (Dunedin)
Distinguished Service Award – Gus McMillan (Lower Hutt)
Distinguished Service Award – John Rapley (Lower Hutt)
Award of Merit – Norman Oakley (Dunedin)
Citation Award – Geoff Ridder (Hamilton)
Special Award – Dennis Martin (Palmerston North)
Special Award – Grant McDonald (Rangiora)
Volunteer of the Year – Hokimoana Tawa (Turangi)
The Ian Snellgrove Trophy for the NZ Elite Motorsport Academy winner – Jordan Baldwin (Auckland)

Media Awards

News Journalist of the Year – Abby Wilson (1News, Auckland)
Feature Journalist of the Year – Dave Hedge (Volt TV Productions, Auckland)
President’s Award for Best Single Photograph – Neville Bailey (Auckland)
Photographer of the Year Award (Portfolio) – Becky Ladbrook (Dunedin)
PR Communicator of the Year – Kate Gordon-Smith (Relish Communications, Wanaka)

Historic Heritage Awards

In recognition of services to historic and classic racing in New Zealand

Avon Hyde (Christchurch)
Trevor Crowe (Christchurch)
Kerry Grant (Foxton Beach)
(the late) Euan Sarginson (Christchurch)
Jamie Aislabie (Rotorua)

Rally Historic Heritage Awards

In recognition of those who have consistently made an outstanding contribution to rallying in New Zealand

Mike John (Auckland)
Joe McAndrew (Wellington)
Carl Rabbidge (Timaru)
Laurie Brenssell (Hamilton)

Join the discussion below in the Speedcafe.com comments section

Please note: Speedcafe.com reserves the right to remove any comment that does not follow the comment policy. For support, contact [email protected]